Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-06-2008, 09:46 PM
duomx88 duomx88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Default Midi Latency With Pro Tols 7.4cs5

Hi, when I record things using my midi controller I get midi latency with 7.4. I mean when I play it and record it, it sound fine but when I replay my recorded session the notes are cut off prematurely and the timing is way off. I read about correcting using samples and midi event but that seems annoying. Is there another way to fix this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-07-2008, 05:04 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default

Quote:
...the notes are cut off prematurely...
This doesn't sound like it's got anything to do with MIDI timing. There must be something else going on. Which Mac or PC? OS edition and version? Virtual Instrument (VI) or hardware synths?
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-07-2008, 07:04 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default

And which controller specifically?


The platform and OS questions that Stig asked are very important. If you are on Windows and using a Multi-core processor, there is a very important Windows update that you need.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-07-2008, 07:57 AM
duomx88 duomx88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Default

hi guys I run windows vista with a intel t2450 dual core processor, and use an m-audio axiom 61 midi controller. Which update are you referring to? I use the xpand virtual instruments package.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-07-2008, 10:49 AM
duomx88 duomx88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Default

n/m guys I got it corrected with the technical support.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-07-2008, 12:59 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default

You might want to post the solution so that others that end up with the same or similar problem will know what to do.


Then again, you might not.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AIR Instrument Expansion Pack 2.0/Pro Tols 11 martinaston Pro Tools 11 2 08-18-2013 02:29 AM
7.4 to 7.4cs5 = more CPU usage PhilBuckle Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 07-31-2008 04:54 PM
Amek tac scorpion with Pro tols sukks2bu Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 05-04-2005 06:40 PM
6.4cs5? ejwells 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-01-2004 05:55 AM
Pro Tols 5.x for mbox user ilgato76 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-23-2004 05:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com