Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-12-2015, 05:29 AM
jonathancampbell jonathancampbell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Leicester
Posts: 38
Default Clocking issues in PT 11 HD Native [SOLVED]

Good day to you all on the DUC.

I have just introduced an Apogee Symphony 16x16 Analogue onto my PT11 HD Native system along side my HD 8x8x8. I have connected the symphony to the second HD Native card port. The symphony is set up in PT mode. I am running into an iMac 3.5GHz i7 with 32 gig of ram. I am using the 8x8x8 as the master clock and have connected a UAD 4-710D from one clock output and the Apogee connected from the second clock output from the 8x8x8. Both into the clock inputs of the 4-710 and the Apogee. The hardware is set up and recognised. I have 16 outputs from the Apogee going to an SSL X Desk and returning to the Apogee. I am getting signal out and returning and hearing sound.

However after a few seconds I am getting error message aee 9129 which is a either a clocking issue or increase HW buffer size. I have done this but to no avail. I clearly have a connection issue with the apogee and the way I have connected the clock? The apogee is also clicking and showing a warning sign every few seconds. I have both trawled the DUC and read the apogee manual but cannot find a solution so I am hoping someone hear can tell me what I have done wrong please? I hope I have provided enough information so far too.

Thank you in advance, Jon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-2015, 03:20 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Post Re: Clocking issues in PT 11 HD Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonathancampbell View Post
I am using the 8x8x8 as the master clock and have connected a UAD 4-710D from one clock output and the Apogee connected from the second clock output from the 8x8x8. Both into the clock inputs of the 4-710 and the Apogee.
Which clock output of the 8x8x8 is connected to the UAD? Which clock output of the 8x8x8 is connected to the Apogee?

The 8x8x8 has word clock input/output and loop sync input/output. My first thought is that both devices need to be connected to the word clock output. If neither the Apogee or the UAD has a word clock output, then you would need a word clock distribution amplifier (DA) to make this work.

I don't know if either the UAD or the Apogee will lock to loop sync, and if neither device has a clock output, then its moot anyway, as all of the devices need to form a loop (sorry if this is obvious).
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-12-2015, 04:35 PM
jonathancampbell jonathancampbell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Leicester
Posts: 38
Default Re: Clocking issues in PT 11 HD Native

Hi Jonathan, out to the Uad. Sync loop to the apogee. However I haven't got a return coming back up?

I've ordered some bnc 't' connectors. My thoughts are 8x8x8 out to apogee with a t connector send out to the Uad. The apogee has a loop circuit but the Uad doesn't and should be at the end. I know there's a solution as thousands of others seem to be happy!

Thank you for your help so far...much appreciated.

Jonathan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-12-2015, 11:57 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,961
Default Re: Clocking issues in PT 11 HD Native

I would think that you need to connect Apotee and Avid HD interface together using Loop Sync (both ways, that's what the loop stands for). Try that first, without UAD, and see if it works properly. Then connect UAD using ext.clock output and try again.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-13-2015, 08:52 AM
jonathancampbell jonathancampbell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Leicester
Posts: 38
Default Re: Clocking issues in PT 11 HD Native

Spot on JFreak...thank you. Loop synced the convertors on their own and issue resolved. Thank you!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDX-2 System w Clocking Issues BillDog793 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 8 12-05-2013 08:57 AM
Clocking issues? digidesigner VENUE Live Sound Systems 4 02-28-2010 03:08 PM
Clocking issues between Digimax LT and 002. iamlark 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-14-2007 05:52 PM
Clocking issues with NRV10? Antonio Sage Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 02-16-2007 12:34 PM
192 Re-clocking issues Javier Carrion Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 09-19-2003 06:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com