Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Old 01-04-2014, 01:27 PM

Default ISSUE: Eleven Rack + OS X Mavericks + NO Pro Tools

hey folks, this is my first time writing on this forum.

I've searched around and have found people/threads with related issues, but almost all of these people have Pro Tools, which I do not have. These threads have not helped me out.

WHAT I GOT: Eleven Rack (firmware: 2.0.1, software 1.1.1), OS X Mavericks 10.9.1

I bought the Eleven Rack from a dealer who has removed Pro Tools from the package, this is the only way I can afford one right now. I plan on getting Pro Tools 11 this year, though.

I want to use my Eleven Racks as an interface/sound card for my Mac -- this is where the problem lies!!!

I get NO SOUND when connected. Via the Eleven Rack program in System Prefs it says NO DEVICE CONNECTED -- it is connected via USB. In the sound card (system prefs > sound) it does not recognize an Eleven Rack in output or input.

NOW the device WORKS and my computer recognizes it right after I download the 1.1.1 software from AVID's download page. I have to uninstall the existing 1.1.1 via the UNINSTALL ELEVEN RACK app, restart, and INSTALL 1.1.1, restart, then everything works wonderfully.

That's all fine and dandy UNTIL my computer falls asleep or I turn my Eleven Rack off and back on. AFTER THIS my computer will not recognize the ER. I tried restarting several times. Reconnecting USB and the Main Output cords to my speakers. Turning the ER off and on multiple times doesn't help. Trying a different USB cable doesn't help either.

WHAT WORKS: I have to UNINSTALL and RE-INSTALL 1.1.1 then BAM it suddenly works again! I do not want to do this every time I want to use my ER.