Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Old 10-13-2013, 11:17 AM

Default Eleven Rack as mixing interface?

I'm a guitarist and mix engineer. I've been doing my mix work on a 002r for the last several years, and I'd like to upgrade a bit, but I have a pretty limited budget. I'm working on PT9, and would like to end up with PT11. I track a lot of guitars at home, and have used the Eleven plug in a lot, and it's been very helpful. I've tried the Eleven Rack for guitar, and it works well for several things that would help me, including tracking guitars at home, and reamping for mix projects. My question is this...

What are people's opinions about using the Eleven Rack as an interface for mixing? Do any users here feel it would compare favorably to an MBox 3 Pro, or a 003r? It has sufficient inputs for what I need at home. I've read that the convertors themselves are the same as in the MBox 3 Pro, but of course convertors are only part of the story in an interface. Any opinions would be much appreciated. I thought if it was a solid interface that sounded good, I'd use it with some kind of passive monitor box ala Central Station.

I'll likely post this in the Pro Tools (not HD) forum as well.

Thanks!

Stephen

Mac Mini Server
OSX 10.7
PT 9
002r
Old 10-13-2013, 04:11 PM

Default Re: Eleven Rack as mixing interface?

The conversion of the 11R is not even in the same universe as the Mbox 3 (regular and Pro). I have used the 11R, the Mbox 3, and the 003. The 11R conversion is not even quite as good as the 003, and the 003 is light years behind the new Mboxes.