Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-04-2010, 03:05 PM
MX582 MX582 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 70
Default Difference between accel card and process card?

Has anyone done any tests to see how much more power an accel card has over a process card?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-05-2010, 05:52 AM
Daniel Sasso Daniel Sasso is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brazil
Posts: 128
Default Re: Difference between accel card and process card?

I think Accel has more DSP chips than Process.. Accel 9 chips, and Process 7 chips...
__________________
PT HDX2 ExpressBox EB7 Chassis 10.3.10.D-Control.HD I/O.SYNC H/D.MacPro "4,1".2x 2.26 GHz Quad.32 Gb RAM.OS 10.7.5

PT HDN 10.3.8.D-Command.HD I/O.SYNC I/O.MacPro "4,1".2.8 GHz Quad.32 Gb RAM.OS 10.7.5

PT HDN.PCIe 10.3.8.C|24.HD I/O.SYNC I/O.MacPro "4,1".2.8 GHz Quad.32 Gb RAM.OS 10.7.5

Estúdio JLS Facilidades Sonoras
São Paulo - Brazil

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-05-2010, 06:01 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Difference between accel card and process card?

Accel plugs will only run on a card with Accel chips. Digi has a white paper out there that discusses the differences between the cards.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-05-2010, 06:04 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,677
Default Re: Difference between accel card and process card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Sasso View Post
I think Accel has more DSP chips than Process.. Accel 9 chips, and Process 7 chips...
Hi,

They both have 9 chips.

Process cards have 9 presto chips

the accel has 3 presto chips. 4 accel chips (321 chips) with sram and 2 accel chips (321 chips) without ram.

using accel maximized plugs can give you almost double the processing power

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-05-2010, 06:07 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Difference between accel card and process card?

Also som plugs won't run on Process cards(definitely @ certain sample rates) &/so ur plug count on that card will be a bit shabby...

& Chris u learned me som'n because I thought Process cards only had 7chips...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-05-2010, 06:56 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Difference between accel card and process card?

This is the White paper I was thinking of. It may have some useful info for you or not.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-05-2010, 10:36 AM
Daniel Sasso Daniel Sasso is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brazil
Posts: 128
Default Re: Difference between accel card and process card?

tks for the infos!
__________________
PT HDX2 ExpressBox EB7 Chassis 10.3.10.D-Control.HD I/O.SYNC H/D.MacPro "4,1".2x 2.26 GHz Quad.32 Gb RAM.OS 10.7.5

PT HDN 10.3.8.D-Command.HD I/O.SYNC I/O.MacPro "4,1".2.8 GHz Quad.32 Gb RAM.OS 10.7.5

PT HDN.PCIe 10.3.8.C|24.HD I/O.SYNC I/O.MacPro "4,1".2.8 GHz Quad.32 Gb RAM.OS 10.7.5

Estúdio JLS Facilidades Sonoras
São Paulo - Brazil

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-10-2010, 08:46 PM
gsilbers gsilbers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 285
Default Re: Difference between accel card and process card?

i wanted to resurrect thins thread because i cant find much info on the difference in power b/w hd process cards and accel. (pcix)
most references are about the number of chips or types of chips on each card or comments on more voice counts but haven't seen any sort of benchmark or comments on ex process card users who now can can open or do X amounts of things better w accel.

how much more in plugin DSP are we talking about? any % or real life application that i could kinda tell the difference. examples etc?

there must be some sort of good marketing info that Digi provided to persuade
folks into accel systems cards back in PCIx only times... later in PCIe there was (is) no choice.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-10-2010, 11:52 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,677
Default Re: Difference between accel card and process card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsilbers View Post
i wanted to resurrect thins thread because i cant find much info on the difference in power b/w hd process cards and accel. (pcix)
most references are about the number of chips or types of chips on each card or comments on more voice counts but haven't seen any sort of benchmark or comments on ex process card users who now can can open or do X amounts of things better w accel.

how much more in plugin DSP are we talking about? any % or real life application that i could kinda tell the difference. examples etc?

there must be some sort of good marketing info that Digi provided to persuade
folks into accel systems cards back in PCIx only times... later in PCIe there was (is) no choice.
Hi,

As i said in post 4. using accel maximized plugs can give almost double.

if the plugs haven't been coded to take advantage of the accel chips then you'll get the same! it totally depends on which plugins!!

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-11-2010, 07:37 AM
Mount Royal Mount Royal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Posts: 995
Default Re: Difference between accel card and process card?

Recently I was exposed to the philosophy that certain reverbs run better or more efficiently on Process cards than they do on Accel cards. The person offering this viewpoint did not know the basis of the claim, but he felt it had come on good authority. At first blush, it would not appear to make sense.

Can anyone offer how this could be the case?

John Caldwell
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.4
HDX, 192 and Lucid I/O
5,1 MacPro 12 Core; OSX 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Process Card Question... Accel vs non Accel gsilbers Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 05-22-2013 01:51 PM
What are the differences between a process card and an accel card? mboxpro Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 10-15-2008 05:44 AM
HD Process card vs. Accel card Eric Seaberg Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-10-2004 01:29 PM
Accel card with HD Process card Jazzbass56 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 07-22-2004 11:54 PM
Process and Accel card Zeljko General Discussion 1 09-15-2003 09:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com