Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-10-2020, 01:51 PM
Davidwilson Davidwilson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 175
Default Core Audio

Hey All

I am on Windows 10 running the latest PT Ultimate.

Does anybody know how I get audio from apps such as Spotify to run through Core Audio. I could do it on my old Mac in older versions.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-10-2020, 02:14 PM
origringo origringo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Default Re: Core Audio

Hey man,

Core audio is a Mac only thing. On Windows you'd be looking for the ASIO driver or software controller of whatever interface you're using. Might have to refer to the manual on exactly how, but it should be possible.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-10-2020, 03:22 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,799
Default Re: Core Audio

What interface do you have? Some manufacturer's drivers are multi-client and allow your interface to be used for Pro Tools and Windows sounds/audio, others don't.

Best practice is to only use your interface for PT and your onboard soundcard for Windows sounds/audio. But, if your interface does allow it, look in Control Panel>Sounds to default your interface.

I run my onboard soundcards - I have 2 computers - into my RME UFX, which also allows me to have their output available in PT. Others use an optical cable into their interface as most modern onboard soundcards have an optical connection.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-10-2020, 04:20 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Default Re: Core Audio

Are you using Avid HD hardware? I could never get it to work with system sound under windows 10. I just assumed there is no ASIO compatible HD drivers available like there was with TDM systems.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.12. OSX 10.14.6. HDX2. DAD DX-32R. DADman 5.4.5.1. Mac Pro 2013. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. Blackmagic Extreme HD. Sync HD. Dobly Mastering Suite 3.7.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-10-2020, 08:28 PM
Davidwilson Davidwilson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 175
Default Re: Core Audio

PT Native and Digi 192 interface.
On may if would see the Native card no problem, on Windows 10 nothing shows up under settings/ system/sound.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-10-2020, 08:44 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,961
Default Re: Core Audio

Which release to be exact? I believe only 1809 is supported, not newer ones
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-11-2020, 09:54 AM
Davidwilson Davidwilson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 175
Default Re: Core Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Which release to be exact? I believe only 1809 is supported, not newer ones
Sorry not sure what you are referring to re: 1809?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-11-2020, 10:01 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,961
Default Re: Core Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Davidwilson View Post
Sorry not sure what you are referring to re: 1809?
Compatibility info here. But my bad, it seems 1909 is supported with 2019.12
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digi 002-using FW & core-audio drivers to output audio to mac WITHOUT using ProTools DaveZ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 04-12-2012 12:53 PM
No audio from Apple Apps. Core Audio problem? Armando Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 10-23-2006 06:03 AM
Pcie core + Core audio + Tiger, does it work? fantomaz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-21-2005 01:04 PM
Problems w/Core Midi and core audio MBox 6.1 letrev 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-03-2003 01:43 PM
Will the core audio driver enable audio units ? linpaws 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-16-2003 02:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com