Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-07-2010, 08:33 PM
chirnover chirnover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 15
Default Need conversion from 6-circuit firewire to 4-circuit socket in laptop

Hi i've got a rack 003 which has a 6-circuit firewire 400 plug and I'm looking to get that plugged into my computer which only has usb 2.0 & a 4-circuit firewire socket. What would be the best way to convert this without losing speed on data transfer. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-07-2010, 08:44 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,799
Default Re: Need conversion from 6-circuit firewire to 4-circuit socket in laptop

the extra pins on the 6 pin fw is for power. you are not losing any data speed. you can go pickup a 6 to 4 pin fw cable at about any electronics or computer supply or online.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 9900k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-07-2010, 08:47 PM
rqstudio rqstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,322
Default Re: Need conversion from 6-circuit firewire to 4-circuit socket in laptop

My guess is just to use a 4-circuit firewire cable which would (I believe) not carry power which again I believe you would not need going from an 003 to a loptop or powered ext drive. But that may be the least of your problems, not many laptops are qualified to run PT efficiently.
__________________
www.rickqueststudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-09-2010, 03:23 AM
chirnover chirnover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 15
Default Re: Need conversion from 6-circuit firewire to 4-circuit socket in laptop

Thanks a lot for that, I'll get the cable
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does Digi sell the Fader circuit board for the 002 Ormond 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-17-2010 07:36 AM
Eq or other plug in 'in circuit'? RaySoul General Discussion 8 01-23-2010 11:51 PM
Issue? Laptop, Firewire 410, SIIG Firewire Express Card batchmister1 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 08-07-2009 10:37 AM
Firewire Cards for 002 - With AMD 64 x2 - AM2 Socket - ERROR *DELETED* Table Syrup Records 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-18-2007 09:52 AM
P-4 systems, Socket 423 or Socket 478?? Rudger 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-25-2002 10:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com