Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-16-2010, 01:50 PM
halipino halipino is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 134
Default Final mix "in the box"?

What yields better results for a final mix "in the box", doing a normal "Bounce to Disk" or sending all outputs to an audio track and set it to record and play back the session normally?

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2010, 02:45 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,377
Default Re: Final mix "in the box"?

Honestly I haven't found a difference.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2010, 02:52 PM
caruso7r caruso7r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 842
Default Re: Final mix "in the box"?

There is still alot of math going on into the mixing buss and from my own experience and working with other Engineers and Producers, we still feel that submixing multiple outputs to another desk is still sounding better at this point. I'm talking PTHD. LE may be another story being you are using the outputs from an mbox, 002,003 etc. As you see in my signature, I'm personally using an LE setup, but when it comes time to a final mix if the artist, band has the budget, we'll go into a studio with an HD system and a analog desk to mixdown stems. Then for refs we'll fold down into stereo.
__________________
John
Pro Tools 12.5
Macbook Pro & Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-16-2010, 03:07 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Final mix "in the box"?

We really need a "beating a dead horse" emoticon...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-16-2010, 03:25 PM
halipino halipino is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 134
Default Re: Final mix "in the box"?

I see so this is another dead horse is it? Yes I am in LE/002 and no budget just a curious question as I am trying a few things here today.

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-16-2010, 04:11 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Final mix "in the box"?

I should have put a there.

Yeah this just went around the horn again recently. I'll see if I can dig it up for you.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-16-2010, 07:28 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Final mix "in the box"?

Record the mix on an audio track
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-16-2010, 07:32 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,557
Default Re: Final mix "in the box"?

Quote:
Originally Posted by halipino View Post
What yields better results for a final mix "in the box", doing a normal "Bounce to Disk" or sending all outputs to an audio track and set it to record and play back the session normally?

Thanks in advance
Neither can be better when they both null out.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-16-2010, 07:43 PM
rqstudio rqstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,322
Default Re: Final mix "in the box"?

probably a more important question would be what devise you use to dither down to 16X44.1?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-16-2010, 08:13 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Final mix "in the box"?

BTD can sacrifice automation to keep the buffer full
RTT will allow you stop and/or punch in if something happens
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does "Westmere" qualification apply to "Bloomfield" and "Gulftown" also? bashville Pro Tools 10 5 03-23-2013 03:04 PM
How to get predictable "final" levels? johnsmith1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-12-2011 10:07 AM
hardware buttons for "preview", "capture" and "punch" evs Post - Surround - Video 1 12-06-2010 12:28 PM
The "FATE" of CM LABS "MotorMix" & "MotorMate". Dum dum dum dum... leon777 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 21 10-15-2002 12:00 AM
Anyone burning to HHB's "BurnIT" for final mixdown? 88Fingerz88 Tips & Tricks 1 06-28-2002 11:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com