Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2021, 09:32 PM
TommyT TommyT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Los Angeles CA.
Posts: 296
Default HDX Omni 5.1 DTS Output Order won't work !

Agghhh... I would like to have the option of hearing 5.1 surround tracks from my HDX Omni... I'm routing the d-25 into a Yamaha 01v96.. So as 99% of my work is stereo and only the occasional thing in 5.1 i'd like to have a custom 5.1 output order, basically 1-6 L,R,Ls,Rs,C,LFE (DTS order) I can route it properly via mono tracks & busses labeled as such, but a true 5.1 track won't output in the correct order.. I've set the correct order in the hardware setup & in the i/o setup output page i set the monitor to DTS routing, but the monitor bus shows L,C,R,Ls,Rs,Lfe.. what am I missing here.. this shouldn't be so hard.. Like I said 99% of my work is stereo & the 01V likes stereo pairs, would rather not have to put it into surround mode, as using straight busses is much easier...

Mac 5,1 12core-3.46Ghz Cheese Grater / Catalina10.14.6 / 96gbRam/ HDX / Omni / SyncHD/Artist Mix / All SSD's / PT 2021.10 / EuCon 2021.10 / Waves 13
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-02-2021, 04:18 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,520
Default Re: HDX Omni 5.1 DTS Output Order won't work !

Metering channel order in ProTools is not changeable. It is always LCRLsRsLFE

However… that has nothing to do with output or input order. If you’ve changed the output order in the I/O Setup, then that is the order that is being sent out. Just metering in ProTools will still show LCRLsRsLFE
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2021.12, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniS1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-02-2021, 08:08 AM
smurfyou smurfyou is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 641
Default Re: HDX Omni 5.1 DTS Output Order won't work !

What he said. Have you tested the signal going into the 01V? You can either make a mono track with signal generator routed to the 5.1 output bus and pan it around to each corner. Or create 6 mono tracks each routed to one leg of the 5.1 bus, which is preferred because it takes the panner out of the equation... see where each ends up on the Yamaha. No need to put it into surround mode if you're just using it to monitor the PT output, so you're on the right track there. I will say SMPTE layout is much more common and still gives you pairs with L-R on 1&2.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-04-2021, 10:07 PM
TommyT TommyT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Los Angeles CA.
Posts: 296
Default Re: HDX Omni 5.1 DTS Output Order won't work !

Hmm ok.. I guess there is some confusion here... If I get a 5.1 track from someone that is L,C,R,LS,RS,LFE,, but I want MY outputs to be L,R,Ls,Rs,C,LFE for the purposes of my mixer routing, or monitor routing - i Can't seem to do that... I can do that in mono tracks - but I'm not able to route 5.1 track properly.... i mean I solved it by switching my XLR cables into the 01V but I should be able to route anything anywhere no? doesn't seem to be able to do that..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-04-2021, 10:55 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,520
Default Re: HDX Omni 5.1 DTS Output Order won't work !

Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyT View Post
Hmm ok.. I guess there is some confusion here... If I get a 5.1 track from someone that is L,C,R,LS,RS,LFE,, but I want MY outputs to be L,R,Ls,Rs,C,LFE for the purposes of my mixer routing, or monitor routing - i Can't seem to do that... I can do that in mono tracks - but I'm not able to route 5.1 track properly.... i mean I solved it by switching my XLR cables into the 01V but I should be able to route anything anywhere no? doesn't seem to be able to do that..
I/O window.

At this point, for someone to help you (including me), please post a screenshot of your I/O page. Also useful would be your Mix/Edit page showing you are routing to that output.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2021.12, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniS1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-05-2021, 11:45 AM
thebeatless thebeatless is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 72
Default Re: HDX Omni 5.1 DTS Output Order won't work !

In the Monitor page of hardware setup, just drag the outputs in the order you want. It's confusing to see the meters not match the outputs, but it works.
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2021-12-05 at 12.43.41 PM.png (52.9 KB, 0 views)

Last edited by thebeatless; 12-05-2021 at 03:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange Avid Omni Channel Order Issues LDS Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 06-01-2020 08:41 AM
Omni channel/meter order confusion dalonso66 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 8 03-31-2016 01:36 PM
OMNI 7.1 order wrong? David Sandwisch Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 8 07-16-2013 12:24 PM
Is there a recommended order for connecting a Omni and HD 16x16 phatbeatstudio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-08-2012 07:38 PM
Omni and 192 connection order and 192 puffin Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 08-15-2011 11:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com