Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-13-2009, 01:48 PM
Marjoth Marjoth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Default Basic Pro Tools question

Hi!

I'm new to Pro Tools, and are experiencing some start-up problems.

First, I can't edit separate tracks, which is rather frustrating. When I try to do anything on one track, all the others are affected. Is there a way to turn this off?

Second, I would prefer if the playhead stops at the place I stop it. Now, it just jumps back to the start position every time I start- and stop it.

If someone could please help me clear up in this, I would be grateful
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-13-2009, 01:55 PM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Basic Pro Tools question

Mannnnnn....


1) Ungroup all ur tracks...

2) Unlink timeline & edit selection or better yet, just hit "N"


Just search man, all this stuff is all over the place or better yet, the manual covers everything...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-13-2009, 03:30 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,544
Default Re: Basic Pro Tools question

KB is right on(as usual). To access the group functions, use the << at the bottom left corner(single grey arrow in PT8). To use the "N" key, make sure keyboard focus is turned on(I run that way all the time) using the tiny A...Z button(pre version 8) or the yellow az box at the upper right corner of the edit window in PT8). Check out some DigiTV video tutorials, and then hit youtube and search for "pro tools" (without the quotes) and watch everything that looks interesting.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-13-2009, 03:47 PM
Marjoth Marjoth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Basic Pro Tools question

Okey, thanks for the heads-up

I was searching Google with the terms "separate tracks in pro tools", which returned nothing useful.

I'm too cool for school anyways

But I'll sure check some of your videotips, yo!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-13-2009, 08:37 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,544
Default Re: Basic Pro Tools question

"Separate tracks" can mean a few things. Normally it would refer to splitting a stereo track out to 2 mono tracks. When separating within a single track(mono or stereo) it is actually called "separate region". Un-grouping tracks, while technically separates them, its not really an accurate descriptive term("un-group" would be more correct).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-13-2009, 10:47 PM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Basic Pro Tools question

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
"Separate tracks" can mean a few things. Normally it would refer to splitting a stereo track out to 2 mono tracks. When separating within a single track(mono or stereo) it is actually called "separate region". Un-grouping tracks, while technically separates them, its not really an accurate descriptive term("un-group" would be more correct).
Mannn Albee'sure I was gonna say the exact same but I didn't because it sounds smart comin from me
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-14-2009, 08:50 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,544
Default Re: Basic Pro Tools question

Come on KB, quit showing off in front of the old guy
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-14-2009, 09:45 AM
ondruspat ondruspat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lansing, Michigan USA
Posts: 1,142
Default Re: Basic Pro Tools question

Marjoth, if your new to ProTools you should really do yourself a favor and use the reference guide pdf. I know it's a little intimidating when you first look at it's 600+ pages but almost every answer you need is in there. A little hint, I always skim the index when I have a question as opposed to trying the table of contents. It's pretty clearly laid out and once your used to it you'll be able to find your answer faster there than any videos or asking the question here.

Your kinda lucky that you had a couple of cool guys like Albee and KB answer your questions for ya. A good number of DUC regulars would have just told a newbie like you to RTFM (read the f*#king manual), especially if they haven't had enough coffee yet!!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-14-2009, 10:27 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Basic Pro Tools question

Quote:
Originally Posted by ondruspat View Post
Marjoth, if your new to ProTools you should really do yourself a favor and use the reference guide pdf. I know it's a little intimidating when you first look at it's 600+ pages but almost every answer you need is in there. A little hint, I always skim the index when I have a question as opposed to trying the table of contents. It's pretty clearly laid out and once your used to it you'll be able to find your answer faster there than any videos or asking the question here.

Your kinda lucky that you had a couple of cool guys like Albee and KB answer your questions for ya. A good number of DUC regulars would have just told a newbie like you to RTFM (read the f*#king manual), especially if they haven't had enough coffee yet!!
Even better than the index, use the search function. This works especially well if you are sure of your terminology.

If you put quotes before and after, "MIDI thru" for example, it eliminates all the single occurrences of the word MIDI.

Then, you need only to click on one of the search results and use the up and down arrows to quickly scroll through the list.

This info pertains to how preview works in OSX. On pc, adobe reader works similarly... No results list but you just use the "next" button...
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-14-2009, 11:19 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Basic Pro Tools question

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Come on KB, quit showing off in front of the old guy
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basic Pro Tools midi question jakedavis Pro Tools 10 18 03-12-2013 01:18 PM
New To Pro Tools - Basic Question DStorms Pro Tools 10 4 12-30-2011 12:47 PM
Basic Pro Tools 9 PC compatibility Question tomdean General Discussion 0 10-06-2011 02:16 PM
basic question about 003 bundled software with pro tools 7.3 papaaaron 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-19-2007 09:14 PM
Basic Pro Tools use. Really Basic question. Shizznik_McRuube 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-14-2002 12:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com