Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2006, 05:16 PM
JLeigh2024 JLeigh2024 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 83
Default PT 7.1 cs3 crashes on instantiating TDM plugins

I just upgraded from PT 6.9.3 to PT 7.1 cs3. I was having trouble opening sessions from 6.9 in 7.1cs3 (PT crashes everytime I try to open a session) and decided to create a new test session. Everything works fine (including instantiating RTAS plugins) until I attempt to instantiate a TDM plugin. I tried Filterbank, Bombfactory etc. and PT crashes everytime I try to instantiate as a TDM plugin.
I've gone through the Digi Troubleshooting tips including Trashing Prefs, running Cocktail to repair permissions, deleting Digi Databases and even uninstalling and reinstalling. Any thoughts?

-HD2
-96 I/O
-PT 7.1cs3
-G4 Quicksilver 1.25
-OS 10.4.4
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-02-2006, 05:41 PM
JLeigh2024 JLeigh2024 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 83
Default Re: PT 7.1 cs3 crashes on instantiating TDM plugins

I haven't upgraded from Waveshell 4.4. Could this cause a plug-in conflict even though I'm not trying to instantiate a Waves plugin. Also, I did "accidentaly" upgrade to OS 10.4.4 before doing this upgrade. Has anyone else runnning 10.4.4 had a similar problem with TDM plugs?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-03-2006, 08:25 AM
JLeigh2024 JLeigh2024 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 83
Default Re: PT 7.1 cs3 crashes on instantiating TDM plugin

How would I disable my Waveshell to see if this is the problem? Still strange that all my other TDM plugs won't work though.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-03-2006, 09:39 AM
SessionKat SessionKat is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Daly City, CA U.S.A.
Posts: 646
Default Re: PT 7.1 cs3 crashes on instantiating TDM plugin

Quote:
How would I disable my Waveshell to see if this is the problem? Still strange that all my other TDM plugs won't work though.
Remove the Waveshell(s) from your Plug-Ins folder and move them to the "Unused" Plug-Ins folder. It is very possible that v4.4 can cause library/cache problems.

Also, be aware that many plug-ins were required to be revved to support PT7.

Regards,


-tv
__________________
Tim vdB
Avid Audio

"There's a fine line between stupid and clever."
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-03-2006, 10:30 AM
JLeigh2024 JLeigh2024 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 83
Default Re: PT 7.1 cs3 crashes on instantiating TDM plugin

Thanks Tim. I moved the Waveshell to my Unused plugin folder and still having same problem. Aside from Waves, the only other plugs I have installed are McDSP's Filterbank, the standard Bomb Factory stuff (LA-2A, 1176) and all the standard Digi plugs. I verified when I started PT that the Waves plugs weren't showing up in my plugin list...and they are not. I checked McDSP's website and they said Filterbank is approved for PT7...soooo...at a loss.....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-03-2006, 12:03 PM
JLeigh2024 JLeigh2024 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 83
Default Re: PT 7.1 cs3 crashes on instantiating TDM plugin

Went back to 6.9.3 land until I can get this figured out.....aaaarrrrrgggghhhhhhh
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-03-2006, 01:16 PM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default Re: PT 7.1 cs3 crashes on instantiating TDM plugin

Quote:
Went back to 6.9.3 land until I can get this figured out.....aaaarrrrrgggghhhhhhh
Not really necesarry... Have you tried basic troubleshooting, as in, determine WHICH plugin specifically is taking you out? It's a zillion times easier to fix it when you know what's broken.

You should SIMPLY remove all non-Digi plugs (and while we're at it, make sure all Digi plugs are at least version 7.0 (except dynamics III, which will be 6.9).

OK - if the plugs are not current, update them.

THEN - make a test session. Do the digi branded plugs work? Good. Now add BF plugs. Latest versions? Are you sure? Do they work now?

If you want to figure out what's wrong, you have to step back and strip it down before adding things.

99.99% of all posts with "my sessions don't open - I'm going back to 6.x" are all attributed to plugins that have not been updated.
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-03-2006, 01:18 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: PT 7.1 cs3 crashes on instantiating TDM plugin

Just in case...are you using the PT 7 optimized Filterbank 4.0 ?
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-03-2006, 01:23 PM
JLeigh2024 JLeigh2024 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 83
Default Re: PT 7.1 cs3 crashes on instantiating TDM plugin

Jeremy, thanks for the troubleshooting advice. I had a client deadline to complete today and that is why I'm back with 6.9. PT has been plug 'n play for me for the past 4 years...since this is the first time I've actually encountered a problem, I'm admittedly braindead in the area of isolating what the problem may be. Monday will go through plugin testing as suggested.
Rock
JC
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-07-2006, 05:28 PM
JLeigh2024 JLeigh2024 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 83
Default Re: PT 7.1 cs3 crashes on instantiating TDM plugin

After feeling like quite the idiot for not doing my plugin homework before upgrading PT (and having to go back to 6.9 for a bit), I am now back in 7.1 land and lovin it (aside from having to pay Waves for their WUP ass plan!!! Lovin McDSP more and more just based on Customer Service and FREE upgrades.) It was my plugins causing the crashes in PT 7.1 and now that all is updated...all is working well
The plugin list at the bottom of this page http://www.digidesign.com/download/70/ was quite handy.
Rock
JC
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Instantiating sends mutes whole session... pqlior@mac.com Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 08-08-2011 04:48 PM
very slow plug-in instantiating on v8.0.3 Snow Leopard nuvar Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 02-06-2011 09:00 PM
getting DAE error -7401 when instantiating Spectrasonics plug-ins vudoo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 10 05-25-2010 11:29 AM
Audio mutes when instantiating plugins insanesounds Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 05-18-2010 08:45 PM
instantiating plugins very slow CarNut 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-07-2009 06:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com