Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-24-2005, 03:03 PM
rossscarbro rossscarbro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 27
Default PTLE VS. Tracktion: PTLE so slow to load plugins!

I just installed a ton of plugins over the weekend and most have both RTAS and VST options.

When I load up PTLE the and it shows "loading plugins" it takes quite a while...maybe 2 minutes to load everything up. Then, when I'm in a session and load up a plugin on an individual track (only 4 tracks are on and only 1 plug in is being loaded) some plugins (Waves, Ozone, etc...) take a while to fully load and operate.

However, If I load up Tracktion, the entire process takes about 5 seconds and any plugin I choose (and I have more VST types than I do RTAS) loads up almost immediately and ready to go.

Anyone have any suggestions??

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-24-2005, 03:44 PM
tempest18 tempest18 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Newcastle, UK
Posts: 225
Default Re: PTLE VS. Tracktion: PTLE so slow to load plugins!

I'd say this is a hardware related issue.

Waves plugins dont take ages to open on tracks for me. They're open instantly.

Loading a full mix with numerous instances of Ren Comp Ren EQ Pultecs Focusrite Comps and EQs and it takes less than 10 seconds to build the project.

Whats tracktion anyways?

The VST wrapped plugins usually take longer to load but RTAS shouldnt

Chris Tempest
__________________
Digi 002R
Athlon 64 3400
K8V SE Deluxe
Crucial 1gig DDR PC3200 CAS3
Western Digital 80GB x2
Radeon 9200SE 64 DDR
Enermax Noisetaker 370W
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2005, 10:34 PM
rossscarbro rossscarbro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 27
Default Re: PTLE VS. Tracktion: PTLE so slow to load plugi

Tracktion is another recording software package...similar to Pro Tools and developed by Mackie. I downloaded the free program last year and really like it!!

I would think that it is hardware related...I think my Ram is too low (512) but it does not seem to happen in Tracktion, so I question why. Perhaps the actual PTLE program itself require alot more out of my PC than running Tracktion....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-25-2005, 12:27 AM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: PTLE VS. Tracktion: PTLE so slow to load plugi

You can end the guesswork on memory usage by looking at Task Manager- it can tell you how much memory is being used by each program, and whether you've used all your physical RAM and started actively using Virtual Memory on the hard disk.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-25-2005, 09:12 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,564
Default Re: PTLE VS. Tracktion: PTLE so slow to load plugi

And yes, it does take a while for protools to open if you have a lot of plugins available. Once it is open, sessions load fairly quickly and I don't recall ever waiting for more than a second or two for a plugin to "show up" on the screen.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-25-2005, 10:38 PM
neomodo neomodo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: place
Posts: 288
Default Re: PTLE VS. Tracktion: PTLE so slow to load plugins!

You need more ram first of all - RAM is king and it is cheap - That's just a general sort of suggestion.

With regards to your plugin loading question I'm gonna just shoot out a few thoughts here -

I think that the RTAS plugins are going to load considerably slower than than your basic VST stuff. It usually takes Waves 4.0 a little while to load on my system and I have 1.5 gb of RAM - If I load Ableton Live or Cubase or some other music program that is VST based they all load lickety split. Apples and Oranges in other words.

Also - If I get this correctly you installed a bunch of plugins and I'm guessing that some of these were cracked versions. If so you can basically forget about any sort of formal troubleshooting. If you are lucky enough to get stuff without viruses you have to understand that you can never be sure of what you are getting. Sometimes a corrupted file will hose your system and you won't even be aware of it right away - So the first question I guess might be - how many of those plugins do you really need? It is hard to resist I suppose but in the end, having gone down that path myself at one point in time I decided that a lot of that stuff wasn't necessary at all... Of course that's just my opinion.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugins slow to load wyman Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 5 02-03-2014 02:43 PM
PTLE will not load andrewcleaton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-19-2010 05:23 PM
PTLE 8.0.1 Will Not Load robob 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 09-08-2009 05:27 AM
Pro Tools 7.4.2 Slow to Load Plugins KMFDM Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-26-2009 08:06 AM
Load video in PTLE Bigpit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-31-2004 08:55 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com