Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-06-2005, 07:50 AM
samrisio samrisio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 136
Default anyone tried tracktion? work with PT?

will tracktion work with the M Box and is it any fun?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-06-2005, 08:07 AM
underbiteman underbiteman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 190
Default Re: anyone tried tracktion? work with PT?

I've tried their nfr version that Mackie was giving out for free last month with Mbox, and I gotta say it's pretty cool. UI is clean, file management system is great, comes with multiband compressor/mastering plugin, VST & rewire support and (gasp) non-real time rendering.

I'm used to working with PT, so there were some annoying differences between the programs for getting around and getting views that I wanted, but that could be attributed to my inexperience with Tracktion.

Tracktion 2 is supposed to come out soon, and I'm really considering buying a copy. I gotta say that Mackie made an excellent marketing move in giving out the program for free. Before I had tried it, I looked at the $80 price tag and just assumed it was crap.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-06-2005, 08:25 AM
samrisio samrisio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 136
Default Re: anyone tried tracktion? work with PT?

thanks for getting back to me..so it works with the m box? cool..why would you buy it if you already own it? 2 is going to be better as usual or is the free version skimpy?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-06-2005, 08:37 AM
underbiteman underbiteman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 190
Default Re: anyone tried tracktion? work with PT?

The free version they were giving out was the same thing as the version they are selling except that it's nfr (not for resale). Obviously with a new version comes new features. I believe they are listed on the Mackie website.

I guess what I'm really looking for is to find an inexpensive way get away from having to use PT as my main sequencer. I hate that PT doesn't have rendering and that I need to have Digi hardware connected to it to use the program.

I'll look at what's added in the new version, consider how much they are gonna charge for it, then make my decision.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-06-2005, 08:46 AM
samrisio samrisio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 136
Default Re: anyone tried tracktion? work with PT?

so let's say you sequence in tracktion...do you then transfer it to pro tools as what? a midi file i guess right?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-06-2005, 08:51 AM
underbiteman underbiteman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 190
Default Re: anyone tried tracktion? work with PT?

No, I'm hoping to not have to deal with PT at all. Track, mix, master in Tracktion.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-06-2005, 08:56 AM
samrisio samrisio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 136
Default Re: anyone tried tracktion? work with PT?

so you would bypass the m box and go direct into the soundcard?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-06-2005, 09:02 AM
underbiteman underbiteman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 190
Default Re: anyone tried tracktion? work with PT?

Mbox and other Digi hardware can be used with other programs via ASIO driver.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-06-2005, 09:06 AM
samrisio samrisio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 136
Default Re: anyone tried tracktion? work with PT?

well the guys using power tracks from pg music say different...you cannot record audio into power tracks using the m box as a daw?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-06-2005, 09:17 AM
underbiteman underbiteman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 190
Default Re: anyone tried tracktion? work with PT?

I went to the PG site and it doesn't say what soundcard drivers it supports, so I'm not sure if Power Tracks will recognize mbox's ASIO driver. But any decent sequencer will support ASIO drivers. Try downloading the demo and see if mbox shows up as one of the available soundcards.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio Suite plugins that work in 10, do they work in 11? David Sandwisch Windows 1 08-10-2013 09:14 PM
Digi 001 issues with Tracktion 2.1 Yig 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-06-2007 11:54 AM
PTLE VS. Tracktion: PTLE so slow to load plugins! rossscarbro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 01-25-2005 10:38 PM
Mackie Tracktion-Free Severe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-22-2004 10:04 AM
How does Direct Connect work?? (Does it work well??) tommydee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 11-18-2001 09:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com