Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-14-2021, 12:34 PM
KMus KMus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: MD, USA
Posts: 10
Default No Eligible License Upgrade Error

I recently purchased an upgrade to Pro tools Ultimate perpetual through Alto Music. I am currently running Pro Tools 11 HD. When entering the code on Avid's site, I am getting this error message:


"This iLok account does not appear to have an eligible license for this upgrade. Please ensure that your iLok account below is correct. For information on eligible products see the product description details on shop.avid.com or your Avid reseller."


However, my iLok account does have the Pro Tools 11 HD license on it. Alto Music said it looks correct on their end. I put a case in with Avid support, and it has now been over a week with no solution or response. The case is currently in sub stage "Case Assigned" with no further details on when it will be resolved.


I find it shocking how slow the support is to get this issue resolved - not being able to use software I've purchased with no way to quickly resolve the issue considering the high price of the upgrade is unacceptable. Is there any way to expedite fixing this problem?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-14-2021, 12:53 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 15,899
Default Re: No Eligible License Upgrade Error

Not going to defend Avid support, but... a common issue is folks giving wrong iLok account info, slight misspelling etc. Or folks who have multiple iLok accounts giving the wrong account. If you file a support case for problems and got an incident number post your incident number here to try to help Avid staff help you.

Hopefully the license you have does qualifies for an upgrade, was not a NFR/demo license or educational license (actually I have no idea what the upgrade policy is there).

I'm sure Alto music is trying to help but the "looks OK on their side" is likely very very limited, I doubt they can't see details of your iLok account or licenses etc.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-14-2021, 01:43 PM
KMus KMus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: MD, USA
Posts: 10
Default Re: No Eligible License Upgrade Error

Thanks for the response. iLok account information is definitely correct, and Alto Music has also reached out to Avid and was told they're working on resolving the issue.

I just tried the registration code one more time, and actually it is now calling the code invalid, which I take to be a good sign that some kind of progress is being made on the issue...with no communication from Avid.

Case number is 04307457 should anyone from Avid run across this.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-14-2021, 09:46 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,324
Default Re: No Eligible License Upgrade Error

Posting to subscribe to this thread.
I've bought a redemption code myself, and this is disturbing.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16gb RAM. MacOS 11.6.3 Big Sur. Pro Tools 2020.12.1.191.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6, Dynaudio BM6p, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-14-2021, 10:04 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,961
Default Re: No Eligible License Upgrade Error

escalating
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-15-2021, 06:47 AM
KMus KMus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: MD, USA
Posts: 10
Default Re: No Eligible License Upgrade Error

I'll keep this updated with what the problem/solution ends up being.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-15-2021, 06:48 AM
KMus KMus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: MD, USA
Posts: 10
Default Re: No Eligible License Upgrade Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
escalating
Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-15-2021, 11:04 AM
jjmoon jjmoon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 40
Default Re: No Eligible License Upgrade Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by KMus View Post
I'll keep this updated with what the problem/solution ends up being.
Thank you - same situation - have PT 10/11HD Perpetual License and was planning on taking advantage of this upgrade promotion to get current.

Was going to purchase through Avid and get the 12.5% Rakuten Cashback offer but after asking a friend at Avid, he confirmed purchasing the license through them activates immediately and you cannot 'bank' the code as if you were to purchase with third party like Sweetwater.
I still have not upgraded my old Macbook Pro, so 'banking' the code is a big deal for me.

Just fyi - for people in similar circumstance, he did confirm, the new Perpetual license will still allow me to open my older Pro Tools 10/11HD versions - which is comforting if i run into any troubles upgrading to new computer -
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-15-2021, 10:10 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Earth
Posts: 9,838
Default Re: No Eligible License Upgrade Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by KMus View Post
I recently purchased an upgrade to Pro tools Ultimate perpetual through Alto Music. I am currently running Pro Tools 11 HD. When entering the code on Avid's site, I am getting this error...
Welcome to the community.

Sorry for the delay - looks like the wrong product (it's a 'trade up' from PT instead of an upgrade from HD) so checking in with Alto and will reply ASAP via support case.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-16-2021, 07:15 AM
KMus KMus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: MD, USA
Posts: 10
Default Re: No Eligible License Upgrade Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro View Post
Welcome to the community.

Sorry for the delay - looks like the wrong product (it's a 'trade up' from PT instead of an upgrade from HD) so checking in with Alto and will reply ASAP via support case.
Thank you. FWIW, my iLok account has both a PT 11 HD license and a regular PT 11 license as part of what is called a "Pro Tools HD 11 Bundle" on my iLok account.

If there is a specific product for updating an older HD license like this to the current perpetual ultimate, I have not seen it. The listings I have seen, including on Avid's own site, just describe an upgrade to ultimate perpetual, which I assumed would work since it was actually the only listed upgrade option to ultimate perpetual.

If this is special order upgrade, you should very clearly state this so customers don't end up in a similar situation as mine. I planned on these updates and upgrades to my mixing rig taking about a week, and it's now been down about two weeks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Perpetual Upgrade Error "ilok account does not appear to have an eligible license" pnoplyr Licensing & Accounts 1 05-19-2021 12:30 AM
This iLok account does not appear to have an eligible license for this upgrade. Pleas GeorgieC Pro Tools 12 2 12-27-2017 04:40 PM
Is essentials eligible for upgrade? micalclark Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac) 2 07-22-2010 09:53 AM
7.4 Upgrade.... Eligible? pguy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-22-2008 04:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com