Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-09-1998, 10:06 AM
AMG AMG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 245
Default FAT16

I have a vague recollection, probably from the DOS days, that FAT16 drives have a max partition size of 2GB and that it can only handle the first 1024 sectors or clusters (i forget which) of a disk volume hence a maximum volume size of about 8GB. FAT32 changes all this, of course, but there is something that was mentioned in Infoworld recently about FAT32X. Can anyone help clarify these issues?

[This message has been edited by AMG (edited 11-09-98).]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-09-1998, 11:39 AM
Steve Rosenthal Steve Rosenthal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 588
Default Re: FAT16

FAT16 can recognize partitions of up to 4096MB (4GB).

--Steve Rosenthal, Digidesign ETS
__________________
--Steve Rosenthal, Digidesign ETS
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-10-1998, 02:14 AM
Przemek Przemek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Poznan, POLAND
Posts: 1,004
Default Re: FAT16

Are you sure? I've always thought that it is 2GB - at least in WIN95. Maybe NT differ?
Przemek.
__________________
http://imaginatlh.com/91709
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-10-1998, 11:44 AM
Steve Rosenthal Steve Rosenthal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 588
Default Re: FAT16

Yup. I'm sure. DOS does not recognize partitions larger than 2048MB, but 95 and NT do.

--Steve Rosenthal, Digidesign ETS
__________________
--Steve Rosenthal, Digidesign ETS
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-10-1998, 04:01 PM
AMG AMG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 245
Default Re: FAT16

I did some research and found a good article in an issue of PC Magazine online from last year that talks about the differences of FAT16 and FAT32. It explains that the upper limit of a partition in FAT16 is 4GB and that the upper limit of 2GB was not imposed by the OS but rather by applications.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-10-1998, 04:09 PM
Steve Rosenthal Steve Rosenthal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 588
Default Re: FAT16

Can you post the URL?

Thanks.

--Steve Rosenthal, Digidesign ETS
__________________
--Steve Rosenthal, Digidesign ETS
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-10-1998, 06:57 PM
AMG AMG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 245
Default Re: FAT16

The URL for the FAT16/FAT32 article is:

http://www-cia.mty.itesm.mx/~gflores...s1607.001.html

It is a PC Magazine article written just when Microsoft released the 95 service pack that supported FAT32
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-10-1998, 07:37 PM
Steve Rosenthal Steve Rosenthal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 588
Default Re: FAT16

Thanks!

--Steve Rosenthal, Digidesign ETS
__________________
--Steve Rosenthal, Digidesign ETS
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-12-1998, 05:45 PM
AMG AMG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 245
Default Re: FAT16

Hey Steve,

So with your help and PC magazine, I've gotten the first part of my question answered. But what about the number of partitions supported per volume supported by FAT16? Can we use an 18GB drive and partition it into 5 partitions?

And what info can you shed on FAT32X?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-13-1998, 06:06 PM
Steve Rosenthal Steve Rosenthal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 588
Default Re: FAT16

There is a 4 partition limit per drive under FAT16.

Currently, we don't support FAT32. NT cannot create FAT32 volumes. They can only be created using Win98 or certain versions of Win95.

I don't know what plans, if any, there are for FAT32 support, but considering that it is non-native to NT I doubt anything will happen soon.

--Steve Rosenthal, Digidesign ETS
__________________
--Steve Rosenthal, Digidesign ETS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVD-RAM from DIVA formated FAT16 - any ideas anyone? tonmeistermat Post - Surround - Video 4 10-11-2007 04:04 PM
fat16, fat32 or ntfs? parmant Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 01-14-2003 11:35 AM
How do you change from FAT16 to FAT32?? Camilo Orozco Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 02-09-2002 10:06 PM
Off Topic.. How do you change from FAT16 to FAT32... Camilo Orozco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 02-05-2002 05:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com