Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-24-2020, 10:46 AM
Cayce Cayce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 137
Default How to Convince PT there's No Video in the Session

Working on a video soundtrack, I had the video clip on a track in my session but had to pull it out because the PT Video Engine is such a resource hog (4.19gb... really?!) and I kept getting CPU resource overloads. I deleted the video track, removed the video file from my clips manager, got rid of every trace of anything 'video', but PT still says "Restoring Video Files" while opening, hangs at a warning about QuickTime not being able to play the video, and launches the Video Engine, even though 'Video Engine' is not enabled in my Playback settings. Every time I launch this session I have to dispatch the QuickTime warning, then go into my Activities Monitor and force-quit the video engine.

Is there some way of convincing PT there's no video in this session, once and for all?

Thanks.
__________________
Pro Tools Studio, 2022.5.0
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015), Monterey 12.4
4 GHz Intel Core i7
2TB Internal SSD
32 GB 1867 MHz DDR3
3 External Monitors: 27", 24" & 65"
Apollo X8P Mixer Interface
PreSonus 32R Mixer Interface
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-24-2020, 12:22 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,277
Default Re: How to Convince PT there's No Video in the Session

Maybe make a copy of the session and open the copy, then delete the video track?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-24-2020, 01:46 PM
dougdi dougdi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nyack
Posts: 39
Default Re: How to Convince PT there's No Video in the Session

Make a new session and import all tracks except the video track. Always saved me in that situation.

Last edited by dougdi; 03-24-2020 at 01:47 PM. Reason: Punctuation
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-24-2020, 04:18 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,700
Default Re: How to Convince PT there's No Video in the Session

Or turn off video engine.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-06-2020, 03:16 PM
Cayce Cayce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 137
Default Re: How to Convince PT there's No Video in the Session

Had to be away awhile, adjusting to Corona-Crap...

Thanks for the replies, but...

albee1952: as mentioned in the post, there's no video track to delete. That was done already.

dougdi: as mentioned in the post, there's no video track to not import into a new session. It's been deleted already. Besides, with a session of this complexity, your suggestion would be a nightmare.

Southsidemusic: as mentioned in the post, I've already turned off the video engine in the Playback settings, but it keeps activating anyway.

I'll just assume this is yet another PT anomaly with no workaround or solution.
__________________
Pro Tools Studio, 2022.5.0
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015), Monterey 12.4
4 GHz Intel Core i7
2TB Internal SSD
32 GB 1867 MHz DDR3
3 External Monitors: 27", 24" & 65"
Apollo X8P Mixer Interface
PreSonus 32R Mixer Interface
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-06-2022, 06:57 AM
KevinQ KevinQ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1
Default Re: How to Convince PT there's No Video in the Session

Wondering if you ever got this sorted? I've tried all of the above, the only thing that worked was re-importing session data one track at a time (yes, even though there was no video file not to import). If I import all the tracks at once, whatever ghost or remnant of the video track there is seems to come along with it, but if I import them one or few at a time, saving in between, it seems to work.

As it stands right now, it seems that if a session ever had a video track, opening it will *always* launch the video engine forever after.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-06-2022, 09:44 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,277
Default Re: How to Convince PT there's No Video in the Session

Okay, since PT keeps thinking there is a video track, there must be some remnant hiding somewhere. Here are some things to try:
1-Open the session folder and look for a video file. If you find one(or more) move the file(s) out and stash it somewhere else(but NOT on the desktop).
2-Open the session, assuming no video track is visible, select all the tracks and then Export them as a new session(include audio files) and save. Open this new session and see if the video engine stays off.
3-Create a blank session with video engine off. Import Session Data from the original and pay close attention as you select tracks to import(in case there is a hidden video track on the Tracks list).

Fingers crossed that one of these helps
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Convince me to get an 11R instead of an Axe Fx II - ver. 11 HwyStar Eleven Rack 9 08-21-2013 01:10 PM
Sharing a video in same session for ADR (video in booth and video in control room) Boogie457 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-01-2010 04:52 PM
Convince me PT was not a mistake. acpowell@wavecable.com 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 77 04-19-2010 05:15 AM
So convince me to record at 48 instead of 96... daede 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 75 11-08-2003 02:27 PM
Convince me I need 6.1! Steve Moore 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 29 07-04-2003 12:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com