Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-05-2012, 11:19 PM
bifbangpow bifbangpow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 116
Question Electric Guitar

I have protools 9 and the mbox audio pro. I plugged my electric guitar directly into the back channel-3 d.i. 1/4" input, hit the 'rear' button, and enabled the record on the protools track. When i played, I could hear my guitar very very faintly. No matter how much i turned up the level on the mbox, even at the greatest level, the guitar input signal was still incredibly faint.

Have I done something wrong? Why can't i get a stronger signal?

M
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-06-2012, 07:27 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,859
Default Re: Electric Guitar

Are you recording to an AUDIO track? How are you listening? Headphones or powered monitors? Have you checked the output knobs on the Mbox? Try the other inputs. Check the manual about which inputs to use for instruments(maybe you are in a LINE level input).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-06-2012, 07:46 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,828
Default Re: Electric Guitar

If you're talking about the new Mbox 3 Pro, there is no DI in channel 3. You're plugging into a line input, which will not work.

You need to plug into either jacks 1 or 2 on the front, make sure the button is selected to "front", and then adjust the Gain knob as needed (to adjust this, if you're using amp sim software, pick a clean amp like a Twin Reverb, then adjust the gain knob until you start to hear distortion, then back off a bit. This will then have your guitar set to where other amps should sound good as well).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric Guitar with Focusrite 8i6 DonaldM Tips & Tricks 3 08-03-2013 02:07 PM
How do you record electric guitar? hymns 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 07-12-2005 10:52 PM
Electric guitar q??? jeam25 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 04-10-2005 10:14 PM
Best DI for electric guitar Cliffy_Boy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 09-23-2003 09:52 AM
Best Mic for electric Guitar Sudsy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 26 02-28-2002 12:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com