Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-03-2011, 09:28 AM
grendizer grendizer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Beirut, Lebanon
Posts: 112
Default renaming audio files

hi there

I have a track in PT9 win7 that I renamed BASS. but when I go to the session audio folder, the renaming did not change. it is still called audio2_0_1 something...

I'm not sure if this is possible but, is there a way to rename audio files from pro tools (edit window/region list) and have the renaming occur in the session audio folder as well?

thanx in advane
Mark
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-03-2011, 09:38 AM
tonepad tonepad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal USA
Posts: 834
Default Re: renaming audio files

The function you are looking for is "consolidate" which lets you rename the new file. You may want to copy first so you have the original.
__________________
My day job:

Wilson Dyer MPSE
Sound Supervisor: NCIS Los Angeles, CBS Television
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-03-2011, 10:46 AM
grendizer grendizer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Beirut, Lebanon
Posts: 112
Default Re: renaming audio files

Thanx for the reply

when i highlight the region and click consolidate region (alt+shift+3). the region is being automatically named and consolidated. I think I'm missing the pop-up window asking me to rename it. I went to preferences/editing and unchecked "auto name seperated regions". but auto naming is still on
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-03-2011, 12:06 PM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,865
Default Re: renaming audio files

Renaming of files is done in the Regions Bin - double click on a file name, or select several files and choose Rename from the Regions Bin menu. You can highlight regions in tracks and rename them, but the original files won't be renamed that way except where a region is a whole file. The best way to get your files to have the same name as the track is to name the track prior to recording.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2021.6 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Catalina in a Trashcan 32GB
PT 2021.6 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-03-2011, 12:12 PM
tonepad tonepad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal USA
Posts: 834
Default Re: renaming audio files

Quote:
Originally Posted by grendizer View Post
Thanx for the reply

when i highlight the region and click consolidate region (alt+shift+3). the region is being automatically named and consolidated. I think I'm missing the pop-up window asking me to rename it. I went to preferences/editing and unchecked "auto name seperated regions". but auto naming is still on
Double click on it, you will be presented the rename option, but the post above is another way too. Always more than one way to skin the PT cat!
__________________
My day job:

Wilson Dyer MPSE
Sound Supervisor: NCIS Los Angeles, CBS Television
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-03-2011, 02:18 PM
grendizer grendizer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Beirut, Lebanon
Posts: 112
Default Re: renaming audio files

thanx for the replies


what I'm trying to do, for example is, when an artist comes to my studio and asks if he can have his songs individual tracks, i want to be able to go to the "sessions audio folder" grab it, throw it on his hard drive, without even turning on PT. i usually delete all unused playlists/audio files and keep only active whole files that where consolidated to the sessions start time. the problem is, the track/region bin file names, are not corresponding with the audio session folder.


The only way I know how to retain track names created in PT is to, open up the session in pro tools, highlight the entire tracks/region bin list and export them as audio files to the artists hard drive. but again, the artist has 10 songs in his album and the bassist would like those individual tracks as well. so, i have to open up all 10 sessions in pro tools, export them twice to eachs hard drive. where all i should be doing is grabbing the audio sessions folder and dragging it to his drive.but i think as daeron pointed out, not possible.
of course you can rename the files straight from the audio sessions folder but, i'm not sure if audio2_0_1 is overhead left or right.

thanx again for the replies
Mark
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Import Audio CD Automatically renaming my files DO NOT WANT THIS SamuelAdams 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 09-27-2011 01:08 PM
PT8 Renaming Audio Files in Browser? Dabbler Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-10-2009 02:12 PM
Renaming 5.1 Audio files - nasty bug!! Jon Olive Post - Surround - Video 0 09-25-2006 03:32 PM
Renaming exported audio files using cut & paste soundboy35 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-07-2004 05:13 PM
Renaming and/or deleting audio files davidp158 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 07-05-2001 09:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com