Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-26-2012, 03:28 PM
Cayce Cayce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 133
Default Odd Input Imbalance on Chs 5-6, 7-8

Just upgraded to 10.0, still using 002 rack. I've run into a problem where a signal coming into channels 5&6 show 6 to be about have the strength of 5 coming in. Both sides are equal coming from the source, but channel six input is weak. When I switch the inputs, the same thing happens, 5 is the weaker, so I know it's happening in either the 002 or in my software set up. What's even more odd is that when I test the same balanced stereo signal in channels 7&8, the opposite happens: it's 7 which is the weaker, by about half, than eight. With 5&6 it was the right side that was losing half the signal. With 7&8, it's the left.

When I apply the signal to channels 1&2 or 3&4, with the input gains balanced, the signals are balanced, as they should be. Weird.

I've checked my I/O setting and everything looks normal. Does this ring a bell for anyone? Any suggestions?

Thanks.

Cayce
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-26-2012, 05:02 PM
Cayce Cayce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 133
Default Strange Input Imbalance on Chs 5-6, 7-8

Just upgraded to 10.0, still using 002 rack. I've run into a problem where a signal coming into channels 5&6 show 6 to be about have the strength of 5 coming in. Both sides are equal coming from the source, but channel six input is weak. When I switch the inputs, the same thing happens, 5 is the weaker, so I know it's happening in either the 002 or in my software set up. What's even more odd is that when I test the same balanced stereo signal in channels 7&8, the opposite happens: it's 7 which is the weaker, by about half, than eight. With 5&6 it was the right side that was losing half the signal. With 7&8, it's the left.

When I apply the signal to channels 1&2 or 3&4, with the input gains balanced, the signals are balanced, as they should be. Weird.

I've checked my I/O setting and everything looks normal. Does this ring a bell for anyone? Any suggestions?

Thanks.

Cayce
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-27-2012, 11:39 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,993
Default Re: Odd Input Imbalance on Chs 5-6, 7-8

I was going to suggest that some of your input switches are set to +4 and others to -10. But if swapping cables changes which input is weak, I guess that can't be it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cayce View Post
When I switch the inputs, the same thing happens, 5 is the weaker, so I know it's happening in either the 002 or in my software set up.
To me, that suggests that the problem is with the source. In fact, it would seem to nearly prove it, if it weren't for the fact that you don't get the problem with the first four inputs. Something's not getting loaded right, maybe? If one of the channels of the source has an impedance problem, that would explain it, because the first four inputs have a circuit that automatically compensates for impedance (which allows them to operate as both instrument and line inputs), whereas 4-8 are plain old line ins. What is the source?
__________________
David J. Finnamore

PT 2022.6 Ultimate | Omni | macOS 12.4 on a MacBook Pro M1 Max
PT 2022.5 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-27-2012, 06:32 PM
dave911's Avatar
dave911 dave911 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,454
Default Re: Odd Input Imbalance on Chs 5-6, 7-8

Did you swap cables around ?
Could be a bad cable reacting to the input loading.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-28-2012, 02:04 PM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,199
Default Re: Strange Input Imbalance on Chs 5-6, 7-8

On the back of the 002R inputs 5-8 have +4/-10 toggle switches. If these are not consistent then your going to notice major signal strength anomalies.

+4 for balanced pro gear
-10 for unbalanced consumer gear

The above are typical rules of thumb, not hard and fast.
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto input/input only monitoring failing in PTLE 8.0.4 miketeachesclass 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 04-11-2012 08:48 AM
Post-roll stays on input (in Auto-input)?! Tim R. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-04-2009 12:02 PM
Input shows up 10dB+ hotter than actual input nteeter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-10-2008 03:09 PM
New to MIDI. Input is quantizing. Input Quantize is disabled LiamSlack MIDI 0 03-25-2008 08:59 PM
L,R Heavy Imbalance problem vze24x2x ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 10-16-2003 09:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com