Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-28-2004, 06:13 PM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,501
Default Mix and HD capability

Hi,

Just curious how many cards are allowed in a single computer for Mix systems and HD systems respectively. Thanks.

Best regards,
Siegfried Meier
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-29-2004, 01:05 AM
thin ice thin ice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 812
Default Re: Mix and HD capability

Check how many PCI slots you have.
__________________
Mac Mini M1 16 GB
OS 12.4
PT 2021.12.0

Mac Pro Quad Core
OS 10.8
PT9HD
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-29-2004, 02:38 AM
Infa Infa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA. U.S.A.
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Mix and HD capability

I think what he means is if you have a expansion chassis , what is the MAX amount of cards each system can support...

HD - Can support a maximum of 7 Cards total.

Mix - Can support a maximum 10 Cards total.

And obviously for both "max's" you need a Expansion Chassis --

And if you DO just mean in your computer with NO expansion chassis, then each system can support more cards than what your/any 1 computers inside can handle, so in that case you WOULD do what thin ice said, and count how many free PCI slots you have left in your computers inside, then that is how many system cards you can have. (Obviously)


Hope This Helps --
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-29-2004, 11:05 AM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,501
Default Re: Mix and HD capability

Great. Yeah, I wanted to know max cards for each system - not per computer. Thanks very much.

Best regards,
Siegfried Meier
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-29-2004, 02:25 PM
Infa Infa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA. U.S.A.
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Mix and HD capability

Cool,, that is what I thought, and you are welcome.

Just one more bit of advice. Since to do that you need a Expansion Chassis, you SHOULD get the NEW 64bit/33Mhz MAGMA Expansion Chassis.. Click HERE ....

It is truly the best one -- Digi also makes one, but actually it is the EXACT same one made by Magma themselves FOR digi. And Digi charges about $150 extra dollars for theirs... But it says "DIGIDESIGN" on the outside if that is important to you...

Magma's says "Magma" on the outside -- Which to me even looks cooler.....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-29-2004, 03:20 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Default Re: Mix and HD capability

Quote:
you SHOULD get the NEW 64bit/33Mhz MAGMA Expansion Chassis.. Click HERE ....
Or if you are expanding a MIX system you can buy a 13 slot chassis (Magma) from me.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No 003 Jog Mode Capability Ward2South 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-28-2012 06:59 PM
Venom Capability question Adwel MIDI 12 11-03-2011 10:28 AM
Macbook capability Sidhu Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 18 12-11-2007 02:53 PM
Expandin I/O capability makal22 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 11-23-2005 07:15 AM
MP3 Import capability John Blythe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-14-2002 10:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com