Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 12-04-2022, 05:54 PM

Default Session Template is causing Unlinked files when reopened

Hi Folks, I'm using Pt's 2021.7.0 - don't chide me - I use Pt's vor voice work and I keep using what works until it doesn't!

I have a Session template that I've been using for a few years and now when I save the session and then reopen it I'm getting unlinked files. I've searched the settings and can't figure out what has changed.

Appreciate any help in advance..

Jeff
Old 12-05-2022, 10:05 AM

Default Re: Session Template is causing Unlinked files when reopened

How are you using the Template, through the Dashboard under the Create Tab or opening the Template and using Save As or Save Copy In?
SonoBus
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Options for Remote Direction
Old 12-05-2022, 11:00 AM

I personally prefer to use Templates in a different way. I have a session with all of the tracks, busses, routing, etc. inside, but not saved as a template. I create a new, blank session, then Import Session Data any or all of the tracks from the template that I need into my blank session.
Old 12-05-2022, 11:03 AM

I have a temple with 4 tracks. The first track has the plugins set up. The other 3 are for outtakes etc.

I saved it as a session template. For new sessions I open the the template.

Last night I deleted a some plist files. When I reopened it this afternoon one of the files is not linked.

Pro tools wanted to install a helper tool today as well...
Old 12-05-2022, 11:15 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by originalscottyg View Post