Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-23-2013, 11:35 AM
studioj11 studioj11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 204
Default Can you "Paste to original location" for MIDI

Is there a way to paste MIDI data to the same location it was copied from (on to a different track) without the playhead being at the start position of the copied data?

thx
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-23-2013, 01:57 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,254
Default Re: Can you "Paste to original location" for MIDI

Yes. Turn "link timeline and edit selection" off.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-23-2013, 03:20 PM
studioj11 studioj11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 204
Default Re: Can you "Paste to original location" for MIDI

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
Yes. Turn "link timeline and edit selection" off.
hmmm, thanks much for the reply...i don't think thats what I'm look for though. I want to be able to just quickly select a few notes from within a midi region, hit copy, then just select another track and paste them, and have them land in the same spot as where they were copied from. i guess what I'm asking is there a way to paste without pasting to where the edit selection is? In logic it was "Paste to Original Location". A useful feature for arranging / orchestrating your track...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-23-2013, 03:47 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,254
Default Re: Can you "Paste to original location" for MIDI

Quote:
Originally Posted by studioj11 View Post
hmmm, thanks much for the reply...i don't think thats what I'm look for though. I want to be able to just quickly select a few notes from within a midi region, hit copy, then just select another track and paste them, and have them land in the same spot as where they were copied from.
It will do exactly that. Give it a try, you'll see that it works without moving the playhead or timeline selection.

In the Edit window:
  1. Turn "link timeline and edit selection" off.
  2. Make sure "link track and edit selection" is turned on.
  3. Copy your notes or clip
  4. Click the nameplate of whatever track you want to paste to
  5. Paste


Or, if the MIDI Editor window is more your flavor:
  1. Turn "link timeline and edit selection" off
  2. Make sure "link track and edit selection" is turned on.
  3. Open the MIDI Editor window
  4. Copy your notes
  5. Click the destination track in the Track Selector panel on the left of the MIDI Editor window
  6. Note the hide/view state of the track, bullet point means it's shown
  7. Paste

A Third, and easier method would be to select your notes or clip, and alt/option drag them to another track. If "Link timeline and edit selection" is off, the playhead and timeline selection will not move.

Last edited by mesaone; 09-23-2013 at 04:24 PM. Reason: D'oh, I typed "right" when I should have typed "left".
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-23-2013, 03:59 PM
studioj11 studioj11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 204
Default Re: Can you "Paste to original location" for MIDI

woot! thx for the detailed instructions... I must have missed something before. It works! thanks much-
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-23-2013, 04:14 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,254
Default Re: Can you "Paste to original location" for MIDI

No problem.

I find the MIDI editor to be the easiest of the two methods, but you have to be familiar with how the track list works... It's best to turn on MIDI color coding, so it is easier to tell that things have pasted to the track you intended.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-23-2013, 09:12 PM
soybalm soybalm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 617
Default Re: Can you "Paste to original location" for MIDI

This might be faster. With link edit selection and timeline on and link track and selection on, you can just copy the notes you want (C) and press P or ; for moving the selection up or down a track, and paste (V). The destination track can be in any view. You can just go right down the track list pressing : and V, That's it!
__________________
Dave Cournoyer-guitarist-project studio
Mac Mini late 2012, i7, Sierra
16GB PT10.3.10HD PT12.5.2
Apogee Mini-Me firewire.

Last edited by soybalm; 09-24-2013 at 12:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-24-2013, 11:51 AM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,254
Default Re: Can you "Paste to original location" for MIDI

Quote:
Originally Posted by soybalm View Post
With link edit selection and timeline on and link track and selection on
I think OP wants to keep the playhead where it is, and have the selection be independent.

Your method is the easiest for clips, but wouldn't work for non-contiguous note selections or if the timeline selection shouldn't move..

EDIT: actually it would work for non-contiguous note selections, as long as the track view selector is set to "notes" rather than "clips". I didn't think of that since I never show notes view in the timeline, not enough space for all that info without having a huge track height
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-24-2013, 03:28 PM
soybalm soybalm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 617
Default Re: Can you "Paste to original location" for MIDI

[QUOTE=mesaone;2086265]I think OP wants to keep the playhead where it is, and have the selection be independent.

Your method is the easiest for clips, but wouldn't work for non-contiguous note selections or if the timeline selection shouldn't move..

I missed that about the play head. The destination track can be set to any view as long as the track is selected. I haven't tried multiple tracks selected but I'm sure it works.

I like the not view for a lot of tasks like this because it's faster for just a few notes and the command for scrolling is just all three keys down CTL, Start, ALT, besides track height commands. Also you can see a little representation of notes not in view at the top and bottom of the view. True that the midi editor is probably mouse friendly but I like working in context. In the midi editor, if you put in notation view, be careful moving notes around while in play like you would do in Logic. If timeline and edit selection is linked and you are in play, you kill the sequencer engine. I used to like it when I could hear my edit immediately while I edited notation notes for composing complex chords or melodies. I can still loop a small passage and edit with link turned off.
__________________
Dave Cournoyer-guitarist-project studio
Mac Mini late 2012, i7, Sierra
16GB PT10.3.10HD PT12.5.2
Apogee Mini-Me firewire.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
002 rack "clicks" and Windows beeps when "Setting Up Midi" or sw0mgt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-03-2012 04:42 PM
PT10+10.7.2: COPY+PASTE automation settings "not compatible ?" bennym macOS 6 04-04-2012 05:37 PM
[Bug: PTHD10] Plug-in settings paste error "Not Compatible" jeremiahmoore Post - Surround - Video 4 02-22-2012 11:29 AM
New 27" imac / "original" mbox - need some clear advice.please help !! santococo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-21-2010 11:30 AM
"Some Automation Parameters in the clipboard do not match the paste destination" adamjay Post - Surround - Video 4 01-07-2010 08:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com