Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-26-2011, 06:08 PM
bender-offender bender-offender is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 52
Default How to get into "Edit" using a MIDI controller

Hello,

Is it possible to get into the "edit" window on the 11Rack using a MIDI controller? I don't see a CC# in the manual that enables this. What I'm referring to, if I want to adjust the distortion or something, how do I get to that window via MIDI? I have the "knob #" CCs set up, and I have the distortion on/off setup. I know there's "distortion setting 1, etc." I can assign. But I want to be able to see the controls for whichever parameter I'm messing with so I can just use the "knob 1, 2, 3, etc." and not have to setup every corresponding setting to a MIDI controller. Would it happen to be a program change, NRPN or a MMC?

Thanks for your input.
__________________
Mac Pro 8-core 3ghz, OS 10.6.7, 16GB ram PT 8, Digi002, Cubase 6, Logic 9, MOTU 2408mk3, Eleven Rack
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-26-2011, 09:36 PM
TieDyedDevil TieDyedDevil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 502
Default Re: How to get into "Edit" using a MIDI controller

The MIDI info pages accessible through the ER's UI are more comprehensive than the manual. That said, I don't recall having seen any commands to control the UI via MIDI.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-26-2011, 09:43 PM
bender-offender bender-offender is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 52
Default Re: How to get into "Edit" using a MIDI controller

Quote:
Originally Posted by TieDyedDevil View Post
The MIDI info pages accessible through the ER's UI are more comprehensive than the manual. That said, I don't recall having seen any commands to control the UI via MIDI.
Thanks for the response.

Basically, if I need to edit a parameter on one of the stompbox effects I have to access it on the 11Rack or through Pro Tools, correct? It'd be nice to have a MIDI command to access the "edit" page.
__________________
Mac Pro 8-core 3ghz, OS 10.6.7, 16GB ram PT 8, Digi002, Cubase 6, Logic 9, MOTU 2408mk3, Eleven Rack
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-27-2011, 12:01 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,347
Default Re: How to get into "Edit" using a MIDI controller

I don't think it is possible to navigate the front panel UI via GUI but it is possible to set the "value knob" values via midi, knob 1 CC# 101 though knob 6 CC# 107 which it sounds like you are doing already. AFAIK there is no equivalent to the scroll wheel, EDIT and SW1 etc. buttons that would let you change what all those value knobs are affecting.

Post midi navigation suggestion on IdeaScale, my gut feel is most people will be OK with how it is now but you never know, I'd be happy to be wrong.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-27-2011, 01:03 AM
TieDyedDevil TieDyedDevil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 502
Default Re: How to get into "Edit" using a MIDI controller

Quote:
Originally Posted by bender-offender View Post
Thanks for the response.

Basically, if I need to edit a parameter on one of the stompbox effects I have to access it on the 11Rack or through Pro Tools, correct? It'd be nice to have a MIDI command to access the "edit" page.
I'm reasonably certain that all of the stompbox parameters can be controlled via CC commands. Check the documentation.

IIRC, the only thing you can't do via CC commands is to change models.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does "Westmere" qualification apply to "Bloomfield" and "Gulftown" also? bashville Pro Tools 10 5 03-23-2013 04:04 PM
002 rack "clicks" and Windows beeps when "Setting Up Midi" or sw0mgt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-03-2012 04:42 PM
2 Problems after Upgrade PT9 to PT10: "Controller-Personality MBox3" and "MP3.dll" Eviltubbie Windows 5 07-03-2012 11:39 AM
hardware buttons for "preview", "capture" and "punch" evs Post - Surround - Video 1 12-06-2010 01:28 PM
"Linking" midi keyboard controller to NI unclestanky 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-13-2003 07:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com