Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-18-2022, 02:51 PM
jlegault jlegault is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3
Default Upgrading from PT10 to PT12

Hey everyone,

I've been using pro tools for the last 10 years and this is my first time posting here. I would appreciate some clarity on a question that I have regarding the cost of upgrading to Pro Tools 12. I have searched around on avid's website and forums and couldn't find a clear answer myself.

I just bought a new computer today and i'm planning on upgrading to Pro Tools 12. I am wondering if there is any sort of discount towards purchasing the perpetual license if I am a Pro Tools 10 license owner. I bought Pro Tools 10 about 9 years ago and although I understand their purchase model has changed significantly, it would be nice to know that I can at least get a better deal than buying it outright for $800 all over again.

Thanks a lot in advance for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-18-2022, 03:19 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,988
Default Re: Upgrading from PT10 to PT12

Hi, welcome to the community.

Sorry to say but you just missed Avid's "Get Current" promo which ended last year. Your best bet is to contact reseller and ask if they have surplus codes available.

The thing is, nowadays you just do not upgrade from version A to version B. You need to have active Support And Update Plan, which you don't have.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-18-2022, 03:37 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,420
Default Re: Upgrading from PT10 to PT12

And why would you want to run Pro Tools 12 specifically? To run Pro Tools 12.5 or earlier? There has been a lot of enhancements and bug fixes to Pro Tools since then. I'd want to be on a recent (like 2021.12) release if my OS supported it.

Some retailers might still have the now expired promotional program licenses to sell. The program expired December 31st. I would call Vintage King (strongly recommend them) or Sweetwater and ask them. This is exactly what to ask for: https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/hom...until-31st-dec

Otherwise subscriptions are an option if you don't want to repurchase another perpetual license.

A good sales rep at a reseller can understand your needs and walk you through all options.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-18-2022, 04:23 PM
jlegault jlegault is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3
Default Re: Upgrading from PT10 to PT12

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
And why would you want to run Pro Tools 12 specifically? To run Pro Tools 12.5 or earlier? There has been a lot of enhancements and bug fixes to Pro Tools since then. I'd want to be on a recent (like 2021.12) release if my OS supported it.

Some retailers might still have the now expired promotional program licenses to sell. The program expired December 31st. I would call Vintage King (strongly recommend them) or Sweetwater and ask them. This is exactly what to ask for: https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/hom...until-31st-dec

Otherwise subscriptions are an option if you don't want to repurchase another perpetual license.

A good sales rep at a reseller can understand your needs and walk you through all options.
Thanks for the info. To be honest I said pro tools 12 because I thought that is the latest version. I’m not up to date on this as I’ve been happily running PT10 on a 2012 MacBook for years. I just got a brand new iMac running OS 12.1 Monterey so I imagine I will be compatible for the latest version.

I’ll be sure to call those companies to see if they any of the promotional licenses to sell.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-18-2022, 04:34 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,420
Default Re: Upgrading from PT10 to PT12

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlegault View Post
Thanks for the info. To be honest I said pro tools 12 because I thought that is the latest version. I’m not up to date on this as I’ve been happily running PT10 on a 2012 MacBook for years. I just got a brand new iMac running OS 12.1 Monterey so I imagine I will be compatible for the latest version.

I’ll be sure to call those companies to see if they any of the promotional licenses to sell.
Pro Tools 12 is old, it lead to 2018.x, 2019.x, 2020.x, 2021.x, ...with several releases per year. Major improvements in plugin processing in a 2018 release etc.

Actually Monterey is currently *not* fully compatible with any version of Pro Tools.

If this was mine I'd be downgrading it to Big Sur before doing anything else. Your iMac can be downgraded to Big Sur (most recent MacBook Pros cannot).

There are issues on Monterey with the Avid Complete Plugin bundle (now included in Pro Tools update programs and subscriptions ).

You need to get familiar with this: https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...tibility-Chart

And be reading the info on DUC about Mac compatibility, including the whole Apple silicon Mac situation.

Even on Big Sur you also need to pay attention to third party apps and plugin compatibility.

When Avid releases Apple Silicon version of Pro Tools you will need all new Apple silicon versions of your third party plugins, so plan for that.

What interface are you going to use? Unless it's class compliant (most are not) you need a driver from the vendor that supports Apple silicon and is compatible with the macOS you are running. You cannot install any driver developed for a Intel based Mac.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-18-2022, 05:02 PM
jlegault jlegault is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3
Default Re: Upgrading from PT10 to PT12

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Pro Tools 12 is old, it lead to 2018.x, 2019.x, 2020.x, 2021.x, ...with several releases per year. Major improvements in plugin processing in a 2018 release etc.

Actually Monterey is currently *not* fully compatible with any version of Pro Tools.

If this was mine I'd be downgrading it to Big Sur before doing anything else. Your iMac can be downgraded to Big Sur (most recent MacBook Pros cannot).

There are issues on Monterey with the Avid Complete Plugin bundle (now included in Pro Tools update programs and subscriptions ).

You need to get familiar with this: https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...tibility-Chart

And be reading the info on DUC about Mac compatibility, including the whole Apple silicon Mac situation.

Even on Big Sur you also need to pay attention to third party apps and plugin compatibility.

When Avid releases Apple Silicon version of Pro Tools you will need all new Apple silicon versions of your third party plugins, so plan for that.

What interface are you going to use? Unless it's class compliant (most are not) you need a driver from the vendor that supports Apple silicon and is compatible with the macOS you are running. You cannot install any driver developed for a Intel based Mac.
Ah this is very good to know. I will definitely downgrade to Big Sur before buying pro tools.

I also just called Sweetwater and another studio owner friend and learned that there is no way for me to get any discount off of the perpetual license after owning pro tools previously. I guess I'll be buying the license!

How long does avid usually take to make a PT version that is compatible with a new OS?

All of this info on compatibility is definitely very good to know and will be considered.

I'm using a UA Apollo x4 interface and my Mac is not an M1, it is Intel i9 processor.

Thanks a lot!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-18-2022, 10:42 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,420
Default Re: Upgrading from PT10 to PT12

FYI this is an option if you really want a perpetual license and ongoing update plan and can't get a reinstatement: https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=417778

The other option is just get a subscription and see if Avid comes back with another update promotion in future (no guarantee that will happen however).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-20-2022, 10:56 AM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Earth
Posts: 9,962
Default Re: Upgrading from PT10 to PT12

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlegault View Post
...just called Sweetwater and another studio owner friend and learned that there is no way for me to get any discount off of the perpetual license after owning pro tools previously...
Seems odd that Sweetwater wouldn't know about this product on their site.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading from Pt9 to Pt10 Pt12? Tommyprotools Getting Started 3 09-01-2018 07:24 AM
Upgrading to PT12 typhy Pro Tools 10 13 02-22-2016 10:49 PM
Questions About Upgrading to PT12 from 10 johnbarnesiii Pro Tools 12 2 06-02-2015 10:54 AM
Upgrading from Windows 7 to 8 with PT12 bzerk Pro Tools 12 0 04-24-2015 01:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com