Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-19-2021, 11:16 AM
dez811 dez811 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Atlanta Ga
Posts: 78
Default Perpetual license

Hello I have the opportunity to buy a brand new protools 12 perpetual package with I lok etc for cheap. Will I be able to upgrade to the latest perpetual? Or does a 12 license turn into a 2020 since it’s never been registered or used?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-19-2021, 02:09 PM
Akiz Akiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 186
Default Re: Perpetual license

Quote:
Originally Posted by dez811 View Post
Or does a 12 license turn into a 2020 since it’s never been registered or used?

Yes and they will send a ProTools Carbon too, your way upon register!


Cheers!
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1 "Late 2013", 12 Core 2.7 Ghz, 32Gb Ram, 1Tb SSD, MacOs 10.14.6 "Mojave", Apogee Ensemble Thunderbolt, Softube Console 1,
Avid Artist Mix, Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.12.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-19-2021, 02:51 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,989
Default Re: Perpetual license

If it is never used activation code, it should give you current version plus 12 months of Support and Update Plan. If it is just a license, you need to buy "reinstatement" code from Avid Reseller (not "renew" code which only works for active plan).
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2021, 06:52 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,958
Default Re: Perpetual license

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
If it is never used activation code, it should give you current version plus 12 months of Support and Update Plan. If it is just a license, you need to buy "reinstatement" code from Avid Reseller (not "renew" code which only works for active plan).
I don't know that anyone has the reinstatement code left for the regular version of Protools. It's been 6 or 7 months since I have seen any listed anywhere. Ultimate reinstatement codes are still available, however.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Protools vanilla 2021.7
2018 MacBook Pro: six-core i9, 32GB, 1TB, Catalina / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2021.7, DAPS, L-ISA Studio

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre / DVS
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-20-2021, 12:25 AM
danyg danyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 237
Default Re: Perpetual license

Quote:
If it is never used activation code, it should give you current version plus 12 months of Support and Update Plan.
that's what I did last year with an unboxed Protools code.
__________________
Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz - 64 Gb ram - SSD 500 Gb - HD1 2T - HD2 2T - OS 13. - Mac Book Pro retina- OS 13. - SSL Alphalink convertor - Pro Tools 12 native - SSL Matrix console - Logic Pro X
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-20-2021, 04:44 AM
JingleDjango JingleDjango is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 273
Default Re: Perpetual license

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
I don't know that anyone has the reinstatement code left for the regular version of Protools. It's been 6 or 7 months since I have seen any listed anywhere. Ultimate reinstatement codes are still available, however.
I just bought one. Retailer said he had 6 left.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-20-2021, 08:56 AM
JingleDjango JingleDjango is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 273
Default Re: Perpetual license

This is where I got mine, for anyone on the lookout: http://musicmannstudios.com/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-20-2021, 12:07 PM
SDDP SDDP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angles, CA
Posts: 563
Default Re: Perpetual license

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
I don't know that anyone has the reinstatement code left for the regular version of Protools. It's been 6 or 7 months since I have seen any listed anywhere. Ultimate reinstatement codes are still available, however.
There are tons of resellers that still have plenty in stock:

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/det...e-expired-plan
__________________
-Mac Pro 5,1 12core 3.46GHz Westmere 96GB (6 x 16GB OWC ram)
-RX 580 8GB GPU
-OSX 10.13.6 on a 1TB SSD Via PCIE card
-PTHDN 2020.12 Ultimate
-HD Omni
-BM Intensity Pro

-Waves Mercury+SSL4000 Collection+Abbey Roads
-iZotope RX7 Advanced
-iZotope Post Production Suite 4
-iZotope Music Production Suite 3
-HALO UP/DOWN MIX
-ANYMIX
-Delonghi Perfecta ESAM 5600.S
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-20-2021, 12:11 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,958
Default Re: Perpetual license

Quote:
Originally Posted by SDDP View Post
There are tons of resellers that still have plenty in stock:

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/det...e-expired-plan
Look closely. That's for Protools Ultimate, not the regular vanilla Protools.

The cost for an expired regular Protools plan was $399, not $999.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Protools vanilla 2021.7
2018 MacBook Pro: six-core i9, 32GB, 1TB, Catalina / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2021.7, DAPS, L-ISA Studio

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre / DVS
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-20-2021, 12:26 PM
SDDP SDDP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angles, CA
Posts: 563
Default Re: Perpetual license

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
Look closely. That's for Protools Ultimate, not the regular vanilla Protools.

The cost for an expired regular Protools plan was $399, not $999.
Sorry, i didn't know it was ONLY for vanilla. Yes for over a decade it was always $399'sh or less and now the rules changed and if it's expired it 1K to get back in or surrender the perpetual lic or buy all new which is more than 1K.
__________________
-Mac Pro 5,1 12core 3.46GHz Westmere 96GB (6 x 16GB OWC ram)
-RX 580 8GB GPU
-OSX 10.13.6 on a 1TB SSD Via PCIE card
-PTHDN 2020.12 Ultimate
-HD Omni
-BM Intensity Pro

-Waves Mercury+SSL4000 Collection+Abbey Roads
-iZotope RX7 Advanced
-iZotope Post Production Suite 4
-iZotope Music Production Suite 3
-HALO UP/DOWN MIX
-ANYMIX
-Delonghi Perfecta ESAM 5600.S
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Perpetual License PT 12.4 abre Buy & Sell 1 09-06-2019 07:18 AM
Perpetual license? Terry Wetzel Pro Tools 12 1 02-09-2018 06:06 AM
Perpetual license tonyreed Pro Tools 12 3 07-21-2017 05:31 PM
Perpetual license vs subscription jchan Licensing & Accounts 3 03-14-2016 09:31 AM
Perpetual license - what exactly stays perpetual SixChurchStreet Licensing & Accounts 5 01-02-2016 10:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com