Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2023, 02:02 AM
geniema geniema is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2023
Location: Monterey Park, California
Posts: 12
Default Plugins missing in Pro Tools Plugins folder

I'm desperate!! 14 of my Pro Tools plugins were deactivated/kicked out from the original iLok when my Mac Pro OSX 10.5.8 Leopard crashed, after I got it fixed (installed new OSX) & reinstalled PT (HD7.3.1) I transferred all licenses over to a new iLok 2 (iLok 3 not compatible).

Everytime I start up PT, I still get a pop-up window saying those kicked-out plugins from the original iLok are all deactivated cuz they’re not present in the PT plugins folder. However, they're all showing in my iLok manager as acitvated & available, just not in ProTools folder.

I’ve contacted Avid about this but there’s no support for my old products. I bought the computers, PT software with all the plugins from Guitar Center in 2007 and they installed everything for me. I don't have the original discs and don't know how to get those 14 plugins back in the PT plugins folder so I can finish working.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg About this Mac.jpg (47.0 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 14 Missing Plugins.jpg (65.5 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-16-2023, 04:22 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 5,260
Default Re: Plugins missing in Pro Tools Plugins folder

Welcome to the forum.

Seems it's not a ilok thing, just the plugins missing from the plugin folder.

First thought; was there a function of PT back then to move plugins out of the plugin folder (perhaps into 'Unused plugins' folder) when they didn't work for some reason? I might be imagining this.

You might try a search of the whole mac, you might find them, or their installers. Assuming you don't have a backup.

You might be able to contact the plugin developers, if they still exist, and get a hold of the old installers, or, if you tell us the specifics, someone here might be able to provide some of them at least. We have a lot of old-timers here who very often have archives.
__________________
Mac mini M2 Pro 32/512. MacOS 13.6.1. PT Studio 2023.6.
Topping E30 II DAC, Dynaudio BM6, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-16-2023, 05:26 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 25,036
Default Re: Plugins missing in Pro Tools Plugins folder

Hi, welcome to the community.

You have a version mismatch. Running 10.5.8 and 7.3.1 is not going to be working, as first PT working on Leopard was 7.4.2

Compatibility info here.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-17-2023, 11:06 PM
geniema geniema is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2023
Location: Monterey Park, California
Posts: 12
Default Re: Plugins missing in Pro Tools Plugins folder

Thanks for welcoming me to the community, I'll see if I could get more detailed info of those missing plugins... just overwhelmed.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-17-2023, 11:13 PM
geniema geniema is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2023
Location: Monterey Park, California
Posts: 12
Default Re: Plugins missing in Pro Tools Plugins folder

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Hi, welcome to the community.

You have a version mismatch. Running 10.5.8 and 7.3.1 is not going to be working, as first PT working on Leopard was 7.4.2

Compatibility info here.
I didn't know they're not compatible cuz they worked well together for 10 years (many song productions since then), with all the plugins in the original iLok, until the crash and those 14 plugins were "kicked out" from the plulgins folder... I'm confused, as they're still available on iLok manager (iLok 2), just deactivated and missing in the PT plugins folder.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-18-2023, 02:42 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 25,036
Default Re: Plugins missing in Pro Tools Plugins folder

Now you know.

This is an example of what may happen totally randomly if you try to run unsupported combination of operating system and Pro Tools.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-18-2023, 06:52 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,378
Default Re: Plugins missing in Pro Tools Plugins folder

Quote:
I'm confused, as they're still available on iLok manager (iLok 2), just deactivated and missing in the PT plugins folder.
FYI, just because you see licenses in your iLok account or on the iLok device doesn’t mean the software will run on your system if you have incompatible software.

Last edited by its2loud; 04-18-2023 at 07:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-18-2023, 06:59 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 5,260
Default Re: Plugins missing in Pro Tools Plugins folder

Quote:
Originally Posted by its2loud View Post
FYI, just because you see licenses in your iLok account or on the iLok device doesn’t mean the software will run on your system if you have incompatible software.
…in fact, it doesn’t necessarily mean it’s installed at all.
__________________
Mac mini M2 Pro 32/512. MacOS 13.6.1. PT Studio 2023.6.
Topping E30 II DAC, Dynaudio BM6, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-19-2023, 10:42 PM
geniema geniema is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2023
Location: Monterey Park, California
Posts: 12
Default Re: Plugins missing in Pro Tools Plugins folder

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Hi, welcome to the community.

You have a version mismatch. Running 10.5.8 and 7.3.1 is not going to be working, as first PT working on Leopard was 7.4.2

Compatibility info here.
Thanks for this information, JF, I've been going at it the wrong way...

GC Pro (Guitar Center) sold us the Mac Pro, PT software & plugins, there's no way they gave us a mis-match, and I've done many productions out of this combo. I probably had Tiger back but they installed a Leopard instead when my computer was taken to reformat & reinstall, the only thing I needed to 'upgrade' was the iLok 2 cuz those plugins weren't compatible with the original iLok anymore when my hard drive crashed...

I'll look for the OS package and see if I could find the original OS to confirm this. I'll come back to this when all is cleared up.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-19-2023, 10:43 PM
geniema geniema is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2023
Location: Monterey Park, California
Posts: 12
Default Re: Plugins missing in Pro Tools Plugins folder

Thanks everyone...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 11 Plugins Folder Location - Yosemite anackman Pro Tools 11 7 12-13-2014 07:32 AM
Pro Tools RTAS Plugins - Folder Names Jody Stevens Windows 7 05-03-2011 09:08 AM
Plugins missing in drop down list, but in plugins folder ?? mixingmadness 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 09-12-2007 10:27 AM
plugins in my folder but not in pro tools musiceng711 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-12-2007 09:20 PM
Plugins Folder? ( removing plugins ) test tube AUDIO 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 09-26-2005 12:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com