Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-16-2023, 07:02 AM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 3,077
Default Getting the Command 8 to work with PT 2022.12 on Win 10 64bit

https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...nload/en379411

Scroll down to:
Additional Downloads
Legacy Hardware Drivers

download the Command|8 Driver v9.0 for Windows
To install: right-click and select ’Run as administrator


With power off, connect Command 8’s USB cable to computer. Hereafter, always connect Command 8 to this same computer Port

Connect your Keyboard’s MIDI Out to Command 8’s MIDI In
Connect your Keyboard’s MIDI In to Command 8’s MIDI Out

Power-on in this order:
(1) Command 8 (screen will initially read ‘DO NOT TOUCH FADERS’ then ‘Command 8 Offline’
(2) Interface (my Mbox 3 Pro)
(3) Computer with connected music Keyboard (if applicable)


Right-click on Pro Tools Desktop icon>Properties>Run as administrator>OK

Step #1 pic attached:
https://duc.avid.com/attachment.php?...1&d=1676559143
In Pro Tools>Setup>MIDI Input Enable>tick:
Command 8 [Emulated]
MIDI IN 2 (Command 8) [Emulated]
MIDI IN 3 (Command 8) [Emulated]


Step #2 pic attached:
https://duc.avid.com/attachment.php?...1&d=1676559186
Don’t list your Keyboard in Pro Tools Setup>Peripherals
Only list Command 8 in Pro Tools>Setup>Peripherals
Type: Command 8
Receive From: Command 8 [Emulated]
Send To: Command 8 [Emulated]

Step #3 pic attached:
https://duc.avid.com/attachment.php?...1&d=1676559186
In Pro Tools>Setup>MIDI>MIDI Studio Setup
Under ‘Name’ on LHS, the box is initially blank
Clicking either Windows Snipping Tool, or Pro Tools>Options
will populate ‘Properties’ on the RHS of MIDI Studio Setup
With the 16 Send Channels all in blue and the 16 Receive Channels all in gray, select Command 8 [Emulated] in the Output Port’s drop-down menu
and leave Manufacturer, Model and Input Port set to ‘None’


Save your Pro Tools Session
(Alt + F4) to exit
Restart computer

Launch Pro Tools – when a Session is opened, Command 8 will now read:
Dialog!
Pro Tools has a dialog on screen.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Step #1.jpg (41.6 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Step #2.jpg (24.9 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Step #3.jpg (43.2 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2024, 09:33 AM
moonwalker2 moonwalker2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 183
Default Re: Getting the Command 8 to work with PT 2022.12 on Win 10 64bit

Do you have the driver available to you? I just went to the Avid website and it seems to have been removed from there. When I click the link I just get an error message. (right-clicking and "save as..." does not work either.)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-11-2024, 04:55 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Getting the Command 8 to work with PT 2023.12 on Win 10 64bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by moonwalker2 View Post
Do you have the driver available to you? I just went to the Avid website and it seems to have been removed from there. When I click the link I just get an error message. (right-clicking and "save as..." does not work either.)
Command8_Driver_Pro_Tools v90_69592 (Windows) download link:

https://akmedia.digidesign.com/suppo...0v90_69592.zip


PT 2023.12 Updates:
Getting the Command 8 to work with PT 2023.12 on Win 10 64bit
Step #3 - MIDI Studio Setup is not necessary for PT 2023.12
Just Step #1 (MIDI Input Enable) and Step #2 (Peripherals) – Save Session, restart, launch PT, open Session ... then ‘record-arm Track’



My previous Startup order was:
(1) Command 8 (screen will initially read ‘DO NOT TOUCH FADERS’ then ‘Command 8 Offline’
(2) Interface (my Mbox 3 Pro)
(3) Computer with connected music Keyboard (if applicable)


Was experiencing “No Audio” in PT 2023.12, even though it was visible on Tracks and Mixer.

Audible Audio returned after I changed my Startup order to:
(1) Turn computer ON first
(2) Turn on Interface
(3) Turn on Command 8
Attached Images
File Type: jpg MIDI Input Enable -.JPG (26.2 KB, 0 views)

Last edited by unkJE; 02-12-2024 at 12:27 AM. Reason: changed Startup order - computer ON first (PT2023.12)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2024, 11:35 PM
moonwalker2 moonwalker2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 183
Default Re: Getting the Command 8 to work with PT 2022.12 on Win 10 64bit

Thank you, that worked great!

And a good reminder to save these drivers, Avid won't host them forever...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D-Command with 2022.10 Skwaidu ICON & C|24 7 10-09-2023 10:52 AM
Getting the Command 8 to work with PT9 on Win 7 64bit... Gilesy ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 13 02-15-2023 04:13 AM
What versions of Pro Tools 2022 work with Eucon 2022.9 Mixmaster Rick Pro Tools 2 12-28-2022 01:13 PM
D-Command with 2022.4 Third Eye Studios ICON & C|24 14 05-06-2022 08:29 PM
protools 8.0.5 NOT WORK ON WINDOWS SEVEN 64bit markolone Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 8 04-30-2011 02:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com