Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-14-2000, 02:18 PM
IO Composer IO Composer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 676
Default To Steve R, re: Quantum Atlas IV drives

Hi Steve,
I had posted a topic last Dec. 13th called "drive pains..." in the General information forum, regarding the stability issues of the Quantum Atlas IV drives. You had stated that you were currently testing them and that you were persuing a fix to a caching problem with Quantum. Has there been any development in that situation? Is there any more information on this topic since that time that you can divulge?
Thanks,
Jamey Scott
__________________
Jamey Scott
Dramatic Audio Post, Inc.
Burbank, CA
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-15-2000, 11:31 AM
Steve Rosenthal Steve Rosenthal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 588
Default Re: To Steve R, re: Quantum Atlas IV drives

I don't have any new information except to say that several DUCers responded to let me know they were doing very well with the Quantum Atlas IV drives.

I'm still pursuing this issue.



------------------
--Steve Rosenthal, Digidesign ETS
__________________
--Steve Rosenthal, Digidesign ETS
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-13-2000, 11:59 PM
groovatism groovatism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: cincinnati,ohio,usa
Posts: 13
Default Re: To Steve R, re: Quantum Atlas IV drives

STEVE...opened my tower today to reinstall
my scsi card, noticed that the h-d that came
in my g4 is a Quantum. should i be concerned?
I need to get a second h-d for my audio info
anyway, so should i also consider replacing
the first h-d while i'm at it? i'm just
starting-out so i definately want to de-bug
to avoid probs.
what brands/sizes do you reccomend?
what size cache?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-14-2000, 10:58 AM
Steve Rosenthal Steve Rosenthal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 588
Default Re: To Steve R, re: Quantum Atlas IV drives

I wouldn't replace your current drive. Most folks who are using Quantum Atlas drives report positive experiences.

In edge-case scenarios, they don't perform as well as Seagate or IBM drives, but these are pretty far-out test cases.

__________________
--Steve Rosenthal, Digidesign ETS
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-14-2000, 11:19 PM
editor editor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,120
Default Re: To Steve R, re: Quantum Atlas IV drives

Quantum Atlas drives, work for me with PT no problems.

e
__________________
Partial list of album credits/editor.
http://members.dslextreme.com/users/apple/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quantum Atlas III drives fxbuilder Storage Subsystems 0 02-04-2000 09:04 PM
Quantum Atlas III drives fxbuilder Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-04-2000 08:57 PM
To Steve R, re: Quantum Atlas IV IO Composer General Discussion 1 02-04-2000 09:32 AM
help....Quantum Atlas 10K 9.1GB?? kit2752 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-02-1999 12:42 AM
RE: Quantum Atlas Drives (related to topic in the General Information Forum) Disco_Doctor Storage Subsystems 1 11-24-1999 05:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com