Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2011, 09:08 PM
Rockman413 Rockman413 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 498
Default Will HDX not compatible with PT11? or not the best for Pt11?

Now we have HDX. But PT 10 is still a 32 bit soft. HDX's sturcture is probably not totally 64 bit. When Pt11 is out, totally 64 bit, will HDX not compatible with pt11 or not best for pt11?? Will Avid release a new card best for PT11?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-26-2011, 09:09 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Will HDX not compatible with PT11? or not the best for Pt11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockman413 View Post
Now we have HDX. But PT 10 is still a 32 bit soft. HDX's sturcture is probably not totally 64 bit. When Pt11 is out, totally 64 bit, will HDX not compatible with pt11 or not best for pt11?? Will Avid release a new card best for PT11?
HDX is not exclusively 32 bit. There's no way they would release a $10k card just to have it debunked in a year.

The HDX card is completely 64 bit compatible.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-26-2011, 09:39 PM
Rockman413 Rockman413 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 498
Default Re: Will HDX not compatible with PT11? or not the best for Pt11?

Yeah I know HDX is 32 bit and 64 bit compitable. What I mean is that Avid may one day annouce a new card says it's completely 64 bit and works best for Pro Tools 12 or so...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-26-2011, 09:42 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Will HDX not compatible with PT11? or not the best for Pt11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockman413 View Post
Yeah I know HDX is 32 bit and 64 bit compitable. What I mean is that Avid may one day annouce a new card says it's completely 64 bit and works best for Pro Tools 12 or so...
I'm pretty sure the HDX is that card. You can use 3 cards for a total of 768 voices. I don't see any reason for another card in a year. There's also no reason a 64 bit card can't be used in a 32 bit environment.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-26-2011, 09:57 PM
bad jitter bad jitter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Tellus
Posts: 1,386
Default Re: Will HDX not compatible with PT11? or not the best for Pt11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dism View Post
There's no way they would release a $10k card just to have it debunked in a year.
Remember what happened to HD Process card? Welcome HDX Accel!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-26-2011, 10:00 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,867
Default Re: Will HDX not compatible with PT11? or not the best for Pt11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dism View Post
I'm pretty sure the HDX is that card. You can use 3 cards for a total of 768 voices. I don't see any reason for another card in a year. There's also no reason a 64 bit card can't be used in a 32 bit environment.
They said so on the Post Chat after the Webinar last week. I saw it there in one of the chats I am pretty sure.. They said it was not far away.. G
__________________
Composer/Sound Designer/Protools 24.3.1 Ultimate, MTRXII-TB3, DADMAN MOM, Cisco SG350-10MP EthernetHUB, KLANG:quelle 4 Channel Dante™Headphone Amp, DVS,MADI, Mac Studio Ultra,128 RAM/4TB SSD, Ventura 13.6.7, DP 11.3.2, Logic Pro X 11.0.1 DOLBY ATMOS Facility/MPSE Motion Picture Sound Editors Avid Certified Professional ProTools/Dolby ATMOS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Orchestral VST's compatible w/ PT11 musiclee AAX Plug-ins 15 04-06-2014 06:59 AM
PT11 to PT11 HD Native upgrade without hardware? kirkbross Pro Tools 11 2 11-04-2013 03:10 PM
Is Mobile Pre USB compatible with PT11? bluebe11 Pro Tools 11 2 10-16-2013 01:09 AM
PT11 compatible UA Apollo interface? djkikis macOS 4 07-05-2013 07:44 PM
PT11 and PT11 HD differences Fooks Pro Tools 11 4 04-10-2013 12:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com