Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-07-2006, 06:52 AM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default PT 7.3 & 7.1 on same system? iLok assets

hey guys -- I avoided 7.2 since my rig has given me the best stability ever -- but with the new featureset of 7.3, I'm gonna have to move forward...

my question(s)

1. do i have to give up my 7.1 iLok asset to install 7.3? If I have to give it up, will the 7.3 iLok asset authorize 7.1?

IF I have to give the 7.1 auth up, please keep reading...

2. If i can't keep the 7.1 auth and 7.1 will not work with the 7.3 auth, how can I revert to 7.1?

I would imagine that 7.1 and 7.3 can't live on the same system... but if I want to revert, it just means un-installing 7.3 and re-installing 7.1 (and cs upgrades) if need be, yes?

Any guidance before I take the plunge is appreciated.
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-07-2006, 07:05 AM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: PT 7.3 & 7.1 on same system? iLok assets

Quote:
hey guys -- I avoided 7.2 since my rig has given me the best stability ever -- but with the new featureset of 7.3, I'm gonna have to move forward...



that avoidance i now know and learned the hard way was a good move

my only hope is that paying for DIGI to fix it all and charge us a second time to fix what we already paid once for is my best chance to get stable cuz my 7.2 was not a pretty experience but not disasterous.

such is the way of "being on top" of the techno curve

i wonder how many of us are sitting here wanting desparately to pay the $79 just to see if things finally improve as far as random crashing, documented procedural crashing and occasional the occasional K panics
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-07-2006, 07:21 AM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default Re: PT 7.3 & 7.1 on same system? iLok assets

Jimmy,

Your real-world experience with PT 7.x can't be considered normal -- since you are on an upgraded CPU and a non-certified hardware config... although I sympathize with your pain, unless you're using a stock CPU, you can't expect Digi to certify your rig for stability...

With that said, I am prepared to move forward with 7.3, but i want a fallback to 7.1 if need be... does anyone know if I can keep my 7.1 ilok auth (or will the 7.3 iLok auth work with 7.1)?
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-07-2006, 07:30 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: PT 7.3 & 7.1 on same system? iLok assets

If you purchase the 7.3 upgrade for versions prior to 7.2, you'll receive a new license, thus keeping your 7.1 license intact.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-07-2006, 08:35 AM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default Re: PT 7.3 & 7.1 on same system? iLok assets

Quote:
If you purchase the 7.3 upgrade for versions prior to 7.2, you'll receive a new license, thus keeping your 7.1 license intact.
Cool. So I guess I should just keep my 7.1 installers on the desktop, ready to go, as I would assume 7.1 and 7.3 can't be installed at the same time?
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-07-2006, 08:40 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: PT 7.3 & 7.1 on same system? iLok assets

Indeed the way to go. Or, CCC the system drive to a spare drive before you install 7.3.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-07-2006, 10:08 AM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: PT 7.3 & 7.1 on same system? iLok assets

Quote:
Jimmy,

Your real-world experience with PT 7.x can't be considered normal -- since you are on an upgraded CPU and a non-certified hardware config... although I sympathize with your pain, unless you're using a stock CPU, you can't expect Digi to certify your rig for stability...

With that said, I am prepared to move forward with 7.3, but i want a fallback to 7.1 if need be... does anyone know if I can keep my 7.1 ilok auth (or will the 7.3 iLok auth work with 7.1)?
do you think i'll have more problems?

they aren't that bad or often but they are they...i is not what i'd call a stabile system but i prefer to have the HD4 over the HD3 option of another box with less slots

why oh why won't apple make a multi slot machine for us!????

i'd buy it in a detroit second!
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools HD 7.3/7.4 & 7 ilok assets Chris Coleman Buy & Sell 0 02-18-2013 06:47 PM
FS: iLok assets (PT 10, ptiexp, ++) Blurgh Buy & Sell 9 09-19-2012 08:40 AM
Transferring iLok assets? tlester Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 07-28-2008 08:43 AM
consolidate ilok assets therecordinghouse 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-21-2007 08:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com