Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-24-2003, 06:46 AM
brad 3 brad 3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 58
Default Digidesign pro control

I am new to pro tools and there is a listing on a popular auction site for a pro control tdm system
with fader pack. He says the 888 interface comes with it. Is this the proper interface that goes with that configuration. I am looking at doing small home recording with a Mac so I want to make sure this is all I need to get up and running. Be easy on me now.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2003, 11:57 AM
Camilo Orozco's Avatar
Camilo Orozco Camilo Orozco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Toluca, Mexico
Posts: 969
Default Re: Digidesign pro control

Here is what you need to run ProTools MIX TDM:

1. One "Core" card
2. One interface (888 its fine) with the cable to connect it to the core card
3. Pro Tools Software
4. Digidesign aproved Computer (mac or pc)

Optional:
5. ProControl with fader pack; you'll need the cables to connect the 888 and your speakers and a ethernet hub.

Hope this helps

my .02
__________________
Camilo Orozco
Like us on www.facebook.com/artedigitalestudio
www.estudiodegrabacion.com.mx
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-24-2003, 04:14 PM
brad 3 brad 3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 58
Default Re: Digidesign pro control

Camillo,
Thanks for the info. I called Digidesign and they told me that basically the Pro TDM was an accessory to the HD system. No wonder the guy only wanted 1,250.00 for the pro control and the fader pack with the 888 interface.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2003, 02:24 AM
Exxtreme Exxtreme is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 21
Default Re: Digidesign pro control

Quote:
Camillo,
Thanks for the info. I called Digidesign and they told me that basically the Pro TDM was an accessory to the HD system. No wonder the guy only wanted 1,250.00 for the pro control and the fader pack with the 888 interface.
Hey Brad,
For US $1250 for a PC and FP plus an 888 is ridulously cheap. U sure u got that price right?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-25-2003, 07:08 AM
brad 3 brad 3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 58
Default Re: Digidesign pro control

Exxtreme,

Yeah, an amazing price. Come to find out it comes from Romania. Supposedly someone tried to ship them in without paying taxes so customs confiscated them and now is trying to auction them off.
They show them in original condition in new boxes and wrap. i currently do not have a Hd core card and system so it would'nt do me any good.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-25-2003, 01:58 PM
dsteve dsteve is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Music City
Posts: 23
Default Re: Digidesign pro control

IF IT SOUNDS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE...

I would stay away from anything like this - there's a big scam coming out of Europe involving pro audio gear and computers.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-26-2003, 11:25 AM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,727
Default Re: Digidesign pro control

At that price it has to be stolen. This sounds like a scam. You should insist on getting the serial numbers first, and call Digi to make sure that it is not on their stolen registry. If the seller won't tell you the numbers, then the gear is definitely stolen.

If it is stolen, you should inform the auction site and the authorities

If you buy this then you may finish up having your equipment repossessed when the rightful owner tracks you down.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-26-2003, 01:26 PM
brad 3 brad 3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 58
Default Re: Digidesign pro control

Thanks guys,
Yeah I definitely did not buy it because the guy would not come clean about the whole deal.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-26-2003, 05:10 PM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,727
Default Re: Digidesign pro control

I think you should contact Digidesign and give them as many details about this as you can.

If this was an attempt by someone to sell stolen property then you will be doing yourself and all of us a favor by helping this guy get caught.

Remember, one day it may be your gear.

http://www.digidesign.com/aboutus/contact/
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-26-2003, 09:03 PM
King Kevlar King Kevlar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Holland
Posts: 76
Default Re: Digidesign pro control

...and if you indeed bought it, who says the equipment actually works?
Maybe it fell off the back of a truck a bit too hard...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid Digidesign Control|24 and Sterling Modular Desk Console for Control 24-Separate relaxo Buy & Sell 3 09-05-2013 08:05 AM
WTB: Digidesign Control 24 andreconde Buy & Sell 0 06-05-2012 09:42 AM
Control of DigiDesign PRE mjr@du.se Artist Series 3 01-04-2011 10:25 PM
STOLEN: Digidesign Pro Control Sir Charles the Audible ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 0 06-05-2006 10:30 AM
Digidesign Control Panel...N/W on G3 LesPaul666 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-05-2001 08:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com