Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-24-2011, 06:38 PM
MetalDrummer13 MetalDrummer13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Laguna Hills,CA
Posts: 62
Default Mastering VST? Mastering Program?

Hello, all.

I am in the middle of a home recording project with my band and was looking for a mastering VST (compressor/anything that will bring my recording to standard CD volume) that would work in Sony Sound Forge Audio Studio or Audacity OR a program that does just that. I already did the basics to my master track in Pro Tools (EQ, Dither, etc.), so it has the clarity that I want, but not the volume.

Please note that the version of Sound Forge I have does not possess this capability.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-24-2011, 07:31 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Mastering VST? Mastering Program?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalDrummer13 View Post
Hello, all.

I am in the middle of a home recording project with my band and was looking for a mastering VST (compressor/anything that will bring my recording to standard CD volume) that would work in Sony Sound Forge Audio Studio or Audacity OR a program that does just that. I already did the basics to my master track in Pro Tools (EQ, Dither, etc.), so it has the clarity that I want, but not the volume.

Please note that the version of Sound Forge I have does not possess this capability.

Thanks!
Try the demo version of Ozone 4 see if it helps. Keep in mind that actual mastering is an art.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-24-2011, 09:51 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,293
Default Re: Mastering VST? Mastering Program?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
Try the demo version of Ozone 4 see if it helps. Keep in mind that actual mastering is an art.
Well said. My tool of choice is Wavelab with Waves L2(but there are many options available to you).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-25-2011, 12:08 PM
MetalDrummer13 MetalDrummer13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Laguna Hills,CA
Posts: 62
Default Re: Mastering VST? Mastering Program?

My demo of Ozone already expired :/.

Also, I'd like to say that all I need is a volume maximizer.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-25-2011, 01:04 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Mastering VST? Mastering Program?

Quote:
Also, I'd like to say that all I need is a volume maximizer.
Maximizing the volume/loudness is done with eq, compression and limiting as a bare minimum, at least for me. Lower the treshold on the limiter -> massage the eq a little, and even more so when adjusting the compressor.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-31-2011, 12:50 AM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,921
Default Re: Mastering VST? Mastering Program?

Have you tried using Maxim plugin that comes with Pro Tools?

Instantiate an instance of Maxim on the master track in PT & see what you think. It would be your cheapest option.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.3.2) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-31-2011, 03:54 AM
Greg Malcangi Greg Malcangi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: UK
Posts: 491
Default Re: Mastering VST? Mastering Program?

Careful here MetalDrummer13, maximising the volume of a mix is just maximising the volume of a mix, it's not mastering! Maximising the volume of a mix is just one small part of the actual mastering process. A good mastering engineer (a rare breed) will analyse a track and adjust it's "feel" and balance, adding sparkle, warmth, width, clarity, depth, polish, etc. (and yes, volume). The mastering engineer will apply some or all of these based on experience, the musical style and the wishes/intentions of the producer. Lastly, it is the mastering engineers job to make the mix sound great on a wide variety of replay systems rather than it sounding it's best just in the studio in which it was mixed. From this simplified explanation of the mastering process you can see that there is not and cannot be any such thing a mastering plugin or automatic mastering process or program. Anything you see marketed as such is just that, marketing! If all you want to do is increase the volume then a limiter such as the Waves L2 or Massey 2007 would fit the bill.

One final observation, you said you had already applied dither. Dither should be the very last process applied to the track, eg., after volume maximising and any other mastering processes.

G
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mastering program armytanker RTAS & TDM Plug-ins 12 01-09-2014 01:05 PM
mastering program 18Duffs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 08-01-2006 02:24 PM
Which Mastering Program? zunam666 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 05-16-2006 11:06 AM
What mastering Program to buy after mix is done? frstrtdmac 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 19 11-22-2002 07:01 AM
good mastering program toadiesXJ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 09-11-2002 07:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com