Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-12-2008, 10:17 AM
budster budster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 264
Default Magma Expansion Chasis

Hi there,

Is anyone using the new Magma Express 7 PCI E to PCI E expansion chasis for Pro Tools with a Mac Pro? I know that it is not officially blessed, but I want to know if anyone had tried it and if it is reliable.

Thanks

Buddy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-12-2008, 04:57 PM
tripit tripit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Posts: 394
Default Re: Magma Expansion Chasis

It doesn't currently work on the 2008 Mac Pros. PT boots, but you'll get an error as soon as you try to open a session.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-17-2008, 09:47 AM
budster budster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 264
Default Re: Magma Expansion Chasis

The Folks at Magma told me that their Express 7 PCI E to PCI E expansion chasis currently is not blessed but that several people are currently using it successfully. They said it currently works with the quad core Intel Macs.

I would love to know if any of you out there are using it.

Thanks

Buddy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-17-2008, 10:26 AM
elicious elicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,384
Default Re: Magma Expansion Chasis

fwiw
Magma 4 slot on quad core Intel Macpro
bueno
__________________
ihatetyping
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-17-2008, 11:21 AM
Tim R. Tim R. is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,114
Default Re: Magma Expansion Chasis

Is this the PCI-E to PCI-E? I'm ordering a PCI-e to PCI-X. I've got a quad core already and an 8 Core on the way. Just wondering if anyones using THIS Magma (E to X)with the 8 core and Leopard.

Tim


Quote:
fwiw
Magma 4 slot on quad core Intel Macpro
bueno
__________________
Tim Reisig
System 1: Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.9, HD Native TB, HD OMNI, S3/Artist Transport/Eucontrol 20.6, Rosetta 800 w/XHD card
Mac OS 10.14.6, 2018 Mac Mini 3Ghz i5, 32Gig RAM

System 2: Pro Tools 2019.12 (no Hardware), Mac OS 10.14.6, MBP (Retina 13in, Early 2015, 3.1Ghz i7, 16Gig RAM)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-17-2008, 12:34 PM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: Magma Expansion Chasis

i know your puter is newer than mine, but for any reading along on this thread thinking about getting one . . .

the Magma people know what they are doing

they won't rip you off

if they say it works i think i'd believe it

i love my magma with my G5 dual 2.7

works flawlessly

i bought it used from a PT studio rental place in burbank for $850 ....a steal!

if you are on a budget and looking for a magma check with the audio rental places who often upgrade and need to liquidate
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-18-2008, 10:33 AM
ptstudio ptstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Posts: 122
Default Re: Magma Expansion Chasis

Quote:
It doesn't currently work on the 2008 Mac Pros. PT boots, but you'll get an error as soon as you try to open a session.
Works great with 10.4.x and 10.5.x and both 2006 and 2008 Mac Pros here. No boot errors you described above.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Magma Chasis PCI-7-RX and PT Moncarz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 04-02-2011 04:15 PM
New Mac 2010 with Magma chasis ? T_S_Harris Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 12-29-2010 11:03 AM
PCI to PCI-e with new Magma Chasis NK Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-24-2006 01:53 AM
New Magma Chasis with Old PCI Cards??? M2E Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 03-27-2006 12:59 PM
Magma 7-slot chasis and DAE ESP Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 10-18-1999 04:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com