Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-03-2006, 08:53 AM
ofsaints ofsaints is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 37
Default Monitor Controllers

Hi All,

What are you using for a monitor controller ( i.e Presonus Central Station, Coleman Audio, SPL MTC, etc). I didn't find much talk in my search of the DUC.

There seem to bee some good "expensive" options out there as always (i.e. Cranesong, Dangerous Music, etc). Trying not to break the bank on this one.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Charlie
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-07-2006, 06:29 AM
macr0w macr0w is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Charlotte N.C.
Posts: 1,449
Default Re: Monitor Controllers

The only monitor controller I have is my C/8 and you know how awesome that is. I have been looking at the SPL or Coleman units for a while. Once I get to the point of really needing one I'll report back.
__________________
Intel I7 920
Asus P6T
Digi 002R.
Command/8
PTLE 7.1 MPT
www.clearspotrecording.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-07-2006, 01:33 PM
Styles Bitchly Styles Bitchly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Penthouse Suite
Posts: 388
Default Re: Monitor Controllers

I'm using the Presonus Central Station for my HD rig. I have a control 24, but the monitor section was a little lacking for what I needed. The Central Station has worked wonderfully, and given me a lot of options for signal routing. Also, there is no coloration of the sound because the relays within the unit are all passive. There's no circuitry (ICs, Op Amps, transistors, etc. . .) to change what's coming in and out. Hope this helps.
__________________
Due to budget cuts the light at the end of the tunnel will be turned off until further notice.

http://www.gidakdigital.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-07-2006, 06:08 PM
ofsaints ofsaints is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 37
Default Re: Monitor Controllers

Thanks for both your replies.

The decision is as good as made.

Styles, thanks for the additional info. I can totally relate to your control 24 monitor section woes.
I'm looking to get a small format, highend mixer in about 6 months to a year. The CS should hold me over until then. Lots of cool choices popping up on that horizon.
Cheers,
Charlie

P.S. great quote
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBox 2 Pro Monitor knob has stopped changing monitor levels Rumandolin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-21-2013 10:13 AM
External Monitor Controllers dickcat Post - Surround - Video 4 07-15-2005 04:57 AM
Magtrax/Audient monitor controllers speedyk5 ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 0 02-17-2002 11:29 AM
Magtrax/Audient monitor controllers speedyk5 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-17-2002 11:28 AM
Magtrax/Audient monitor controllers help speedyk5 Tips & Tricks 0 02-17-2002 09:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com