Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-2004, 03:14 PM
Thomas Regin Thomas Regin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Default Advice needed on 002 purchase

Hello all!

I have been searching for a replacement for my Creamware Pulsar II setup, and have considered purchasing the Digi 002.

The main reason for this "transition" is that the Pulsar DSP board does NOT work with my Dual Xeon machine! It crashes with BSOD 10-20 times a day, and I need my DAW to be stable.

Being quite inexperienced with Digidesign, I have a couple of questions that I hope that you are able to answer for me:

1. Being a classical/film composer using big sample libaries like EWQLSO and GPO with NI Kontakt and Gigastudio, I am wondering how fast a FireWire port I need. Will the IEEE 1394a be fast enough, or do I need to go 1394b (the new standard)? I don't want to have crackles or pops even when playing back 50+ audio tracks!

2. Does Digi002 support Cakewalk Sonar4 ?

3. And most importantly: Does Digi 002 support a multi processor setup? I have read on the support site, that this hasn't been tested, but that doesn't have to mean that it isn't working!

My current setup:

ASUS PC-DL Deluxe 533FSB Motherboard
2 x 2,5Ghz XEON CPUs
2GB RAM
ATI Radeon 9700 (128MB) Video Card
DVD-RW/CD-RW
3 x Maxtor Harddrives (No RAID)
Linksys Wireless 54Mbit USB LAN

I hope that you are able to answer my questions!

Thanks in advance,

Thomas Regin.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-2004, 03:23 PM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,916
Default Re: Advice needed on 002 purchase

50+ audiotracks is not going to happen in ptle. Playback in ptle is limited to 32 tracks.
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-2004, 03:23 PM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: Advice needed on 002 purchase

1 - Digi 002 is Firewire 400, and won't benefit from Firewire 800. ProTools LE is limited to 32 audio tracks playing at once, and stereo tracks count as two. FW bandwidth is not a problem for Digi002. Do the numbers, it still uses only a fraction of Firewire 400.

2 - Don't know about Cakewalk; depends on if Cakewalk can talk to an interface via ASIO.

3 - ProTools LE runs on a multiprocessor setup, but doesn't balance the load across the CPU's very well. All the heavy ProTools processing is limited to one CPU. Reports from ProTools LE users on dual-CPU Windows systems have not been very encouraging. On Mac, reports are more enthusiastic, but they may be rationalizing their expensive 'fastest desktop ever'.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-11-2004, 03:31 PM
Thomas Regin Thomas Regin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: Advice needed on 002 purchase

Quote:
1 - Digi 002 is Firewire 400, and won't benefit from Firewire 800. ProTools LE is limited to 32 audio tracks playing at once, and stereo tracks count as two. FW bandwidth is not a problem for Digi002. Do the numbers, it still uses only a fraction of Firewire 400.

2 - Don't know about Cakewalk; depends on if Cakewalk can talk to an interface via ASIO.

3 - ProTools LE runs on a multiprocessor setup, but doesn't balance the load across the CPU's very well. All the heavy ProTools processing is limited to one CPU. Reports from ProTools LE users on dual-CPU Windows systems have not been very encouraging. On Mac, reports are more enthusiastic, but they may be rationalizing their expensive 'fastest desktop ever'.
Thank you both of you!

Let me see if I get this straight (I'm a noob, you know):

I thought that PTLE was a piece of optional sequencer-software that had a limit of playing back 32 tracks, and if I went with some other sequencer (like Cubase or Sonar) I would benefit from it's unlimited number of tracks. Am I completely wrong?

Thanks in advance,

Thomas.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-2004, 07:04 PM
gorka gorka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 112
Default Re: Advice needed on 002 purchase

You´re right. But the only reason to buy a Digi 002 is to use PT LE.
If you want to go with other Software like Cakewalk / Steinberg / whatever, there are tons of better and / or cheaper interfaces than the 002.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-12-2004, 01:01 AM
bladesg bladesg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 485
Default Re: Advice needed on 002 purchase

I agree, if you're looking for an audio interface for Sonar or Cubase then don't go for a 002X unless you want to be able to use Pro Tools LE. If you have no intention of everusing PT LE then I'd seriously have a look at what RME, Presonus and Motu have to offer. I'm not dissing digi or PT LE 'cause it is a good package and well PT has to be the most user friendly and musical sequence softare there is!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-12-2004, 01:56 AM
Alex T. Alex T. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 216
Default Re: Advice needed on 002 purchase

Does 6.7 support Hyperthreading yet?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-12-2004, 05:19 AM
Thomas Regin Thomas Regin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: Advice needed on 002 purchase

Hi again, everyone!

Thank you very much for your good advice!

My main problem is that I don't know enough about ProTools LE to say that I'll never use it, but my experience with LE-products has almost always been negative, as I find myself looking for features that are unavailable! Especially the 32-track audio playback limitation seems like a major issue, considering for instance, that NI Kontakt, by default, will use a stereo-track for each instrument loaded.

Are these legitimate worries? What is the general experience?

Thanks in advance,

Thomas.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-12-2004, 05:58 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Advice needed on 002 purchase

The 32 track limit is on audio tracks, which are intended to actually record audio. Most people (myself included) use aux tracks for virtual instruments, record the perfomance with MIDI, and then "print" the audio output to an audio track only when absolutely necessary. I've never found it limiting at all; on the contrary, I find it very powerful much more flexible.

Cakewalk works through ASIO, but I have to agree with everyone else; if you're not going to use Pro Tools, why buy the interface? There are better ways to go in regards to the interface when using other software exclusively.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Purchased Digi 002. Need to purchase correct PT software. Advice needed. tom currie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-08-2012 09:48 PM
Advice needed for purchase of a used Mac Pro Roq_it 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-04-2007 06:58 PM
Urgent: powerbook G4 purchase advice needed brownj24 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-25-2007 12:59 AM
mBox questions...before I purchase, "help needed" Kia43 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-24-2006 07:57 AM
advice needed for purchase of a studio mic.. Madmaxxb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 18 01-04-2003 09:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com