Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-18-2006, 12:04 PM
EricWillhelm EricWillhelm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 617
Default Time Shift: Why no pitch/time strap?!

Argh! unless I'm missing something, this new Time Shift plug-in once again seems to not have the ability to strap the pitch and time, so that the effect is the same as slowing or speeding up a tape. And even Waves, whose Parametric SoundShifter has this function, it doesn't do it without an unhealthy amount of phase weirdness in the resulting file. How hard can it be? I'd think that the pitch following the time would make for a nice clean conversion.

Anyone have an ideal way to do this? And again, all I'm looking to do is to achieve the same effect as slowing or speeding up a tape. NOT the process of it slowing or speeding up, just the end result. Like, say you are syncing a music track from a CD to an old video with the same audio but at a different speed, and you want to correct for it.

Just curious,
Eric
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-23-2006, 01:48 PM
JimWest JimWest is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Daly City, CA USA
Posts: 197
Default Re: Time Shift: Why no pitch/time strap?!

If I understand your post correctly, Time Shift does have the feature you're after. One of its modes/algorithms is called Varispeed. "Use to link time and pitch change for
tape-like pitch and speed change effects, and post-production workflows."

Jim West
Plug-in Program Manager
Digi
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-24-2006, 01:22 AM
comprodman's Avatar
comprodman comprodman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands, England
Posts: 260
Default Re: Time Shift: Why no pitch/time strap?!

What you want is the plugin called "Speed" if you look on EBay it goes for about $25 with a $25 ILok fee.
__________________
Living on a Narrowboat in the Middle of nowhere
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-28-2006, 05:01 PM
EricWillhelm EricWillhelm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 617
Default Re: Time Shift: Why no pitch/time strap?!

Nope, that doesn't do it either. Tempo and pitch are completely independent of each other. I mean, you COULD do it, if you felt like working out the calculation for one setting once you've set the other. But SURELY there's a plug-in where pitch and speed are strapped, ISN'T THERE? There has to be.

Ugh.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-28-2006, 07:59 PM
accession accession is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: On the road again... (Australia)
Posts: 1,319
Default Re: Time Shift: Why no pitch/time strap?!

Quote:
Nope, that doesn't do it either. Tempo and pitch are completely independent of each other. I mean, you COULD do it, if you felt like working out the calculation for one setting once you've set the other. But SURELY there's a plug-in where pitch and speed are strapped, ISN'T THERE? There has to be.

Ugh.
Serato Pitch'nTime

http://www.serato.com/products/pnt/

Check the screenshots on the page: engage "Varispeed Mode" where "pitch is controlled by tempo settings".

I'd be surprised if it's not the only product to do it. Just a setting available to many similar plugs???
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-28-2006, 08:58 PM
Kryst Kryst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: GTA, Canada
Posts: 1,332
Default Re: Time Shift: Why no pitch/time strap?!

Quote:
And even Waves, whose Parametric SoundShifter has this function, it doesn't do it without an unhealthy amount of phase weirdness in the resulting file. How hard can it be? I'd think that the pitch following the time would make for a nice clean conversion.
No offence really, but from a first year programming student's point of view, How hard could it be? Well, why don't you create the plugin software that can do what you want it to do, then show them how easy it is?
__________________
Kryst
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-28-2006, 10:02 PM
accession accession is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: On the road again... (Australia)
Posts: 1,319
Default Re: Time Shift: Why no pitch/time strap?!

Quote:
If I understand your post correctly, Time Shift does have the feature you're after. One of its modes/algorithms is called Varispeed. "Use to link time and pitch change for
tape-like pitch and speed change effects, and post-production workflows."

Jim West
Plug-in Program Manager
Digi
After d/l the PDF and plug-in, I just noted it does too, and came back to report it, and you'd beaten me too it.

To the original poster, what's wrong with the "varispeed" mode on the new FREE plug-in?

From the pdf:
Varispeed
Use to link time and pitch change for
tape-like pitch and speed change effects, and
post-production workflows.


Isn't that exactly what you want it to do???
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-29-2006, 02:29 AM
Jon_Atkinson Jon_Atkinson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 843
Default Re: Time Shift: Why no pitch/time strap?!

Quote:
Anyone have an ideal way to do this? And again, all I'm looking to do is to achieve the same effect as slowing or speeding up a tape. NOT the process of it slowing or speeding up, just the end result. Like, say you are syncing a music track from a CD to an old video with the same audio but at a different speed, and you want to correct for it.

Surely any sampler on the market (Reason, Kontakt etc) does exactly that?
In my experience if you need to varispeed a track, the best sounding results come from samplers rather than Speed or Pitch n Time (and believe me I've tried these!!).
Plugins like Speed seem to overcomplicate the process, and there are definitely wierd artifacts if you try and varispeed more than a couple of percent.
My favourite, sonically, is EXS24 BTW.
__________________
Mac Westmere 6 core 3.3Ghz, 24GB RAM, OS 10.13.6, Protools Ultimate 2020.5, Antelope Orion 32, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5, UAD Quad PCIe
AJA I/O Express
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-17-2006, 05:44 PM
EricWillhelm EricWillhelm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 617
Default Re: Time Shift: Why no pitch/time strap?!

I stand corrected. Indeed, the Vari-Speed setting on Time Shift is exactly what I was looking for!

Color me gun-jumping.

I wish I knew how to write my own plug-ins. I'll have to take a class as well!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BIG BUG: Wrong playlist calculations when using AS Pitch 'n Time or Avid Time Shift Franco1967 Pro Tools 11 1 01-25-2014 11:31 AM
PT8 - Pitch 'n Time LE and Time Shift - very slow to operate Richard901 General Discussion 3 12-30-2008 09:00 PM
Pitch/Time Shift glitches in PT 7.4 aperez 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 04-23-2008 09:04 AM
Time & Pitch Shift Question! Ika 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 04-19-2008 01:10 AM
Time stretch and Pitch Shift ModaRecords Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 12-31-2004 02:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com