Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-05-2021, 04:56 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 809
Default Re: Is Apple M1 Working Finally?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nedd View Post
Could you please give some more spec about the video files you are using?
Are these Pro Res?
How long is the video that take 70% of the RAM memory?

Thanx a lot

_
I'm not on M1 but the Video Engine at idle is taking up 4.5GB on my machine. With no session open. It's a hog.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-08-2021, 01:42 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,720
Default Re: Is Apple M1 Working Finally?

Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfyou View Post
I'm not on M1 but the Video Engine at idle is taking up 4.5GB on my machine. With no session open. It's a hog.
Hm, exactly the same on my non-M1 machine (4.1GB after a fresh launch and no session open and no difference with a huge session open and 2.5 hours of QT loaded). But if PT runs fine who cares how much RAM it uses. RAM is there to be used no? As long as it doesn't run out of RAM....
__________________
PTHDn 2021.12 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-08-2021, 07:30 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 809
Default Re: Is Apple M1 Working Finally?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Kruse View Post
Hm, exactly the same on my non-M1 machine (4.1GB after a fresh launch and no session open and no difference with a huge session open and 2.5 hours of QT loaded). But if PT runs fine who cares how much RAM it uses. RAM is there to be used no? As long as it doesn't run out of RAM....
I agree. Above poster said it was taking up 70% of his memory at 16GB. Just pointing out it needs a lot. I have 32GB at the moment. I've run 64 too but never got close to needing it so I went with 32 for this machine.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-11-2021, 01:03 AM
Fish Horse Fish Horse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 48
Default Re: Is Apple M1 Working Finally?

Back to the original question. I'm testing a M1 mac mini with 16GB and the video engine is working fine, but it makes Pro Tools slow. The latency when hitting play is too big. It's not ready for pro post work for me. I'm guess it's a Pro Tools problem, because other apps with video are much snappier.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-11-2021, 02:08 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,953
Default Re: Is Apple M1 Working Finally?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fish Horse View Post
Back to the original question. I'm testing a M1 mac mini with 16GB and the video engine is working fine, but it makes Pro Tools slow.
Same here. The problem is both PT and hardware, as the AVE takes several gigabytes of memory which is already running thin. Need more memory.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-26-2021, 05:44 AM
vaggelis.mak vaggelis.mak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Athens
Posts: 11
Default Re: Is Apple M1 Working Finally?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fish Horse View Post
Back to the original question. I'm testing a M1 mac mini with 16GB and the video engine is working fine, but it makes Pro Tools slow. The latency when hitting play is too big. It's not ready for pro post work for me. I'm guess it's a Pro Tools problem, because other apps with video are much snappier.
Yeah I did some tests with m1 air, 8gb and it wasn't that it wasn't fast, but I felt it wasn't stable at all. The video engine worked quite good but of course I run out of memory (because of 8gb).

Last edited by vaggelis.mak; 11-26-2021 at 06:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-28-2021, 01:03 AM
Mike Thornton's Avatar
Mike Thornton Mike Thornton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Manchester, U.K.
Posts: 415
Default Re: Is Apple M1 Working Finally?

My advice would be to wait until the M1 Max version of the Mac mini comes out. At Production Expert, we have been running some tests on an M1 Max powered MacBook Pro with 64GB of unified memory and frankly, it is amazing.

In the first tests, we compared it to a Mac mini 2018. We have since done further tests with the new HD Driver for HDX systems and also the new video engine and we will be publishing these very soon.
__________________
Mike Thornton MIPS
COO Of Production Expert Ltd - home of Pro Tools Expert
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-30-2021, 05:53 AM
Fish Horse Fish Horse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 48
Default Re: Is Apple M1 Working Finally?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Thornton View Post
My advice would be to wait until the M1 Max version of the Mac mini comes out. At Production Expert, we have been running some tests on an M1 Max powered MacBook Pro with 64GB of unified memory and frankly, it is amazing.
I'm sure that machine is amazing, but I'm afraid it's a software problem. My standard sessions with dnxhd36 video are certainly not snappy on the Mini M1 16GB with Big Sur and PT 2021.10.0

In activity window there is always enough headroom for CPU, GPU and memory, o that's no problem.

The same session is running much more fluently on my Mac Pro 10core trashcan with High Sierra and PT 2020.12.
Upgrading to 2021.3, then 2021.6 and after that 2021.10 downgraded my system to being more "laggy".

After installing Catalina on the trashcan it was still lagging with PT 2021.10.
This with massive amounts of headroom for the GPU (just a few percent) and CPU. Also more than enough RAM headroom.

I tried downgrading PT to 2021.3. It was better, but not much.
Then I downgraded to 2020.12 and it was better then 2021.3, but not as good as with High Sierra.

So, in my test, the older machine worked best with the older OS and the older Pro Tools version for the exact same session.

Last edited by JFreak; 11-30-2021 at 06:04 AM. Reason: fixed the quote
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-30-2021, 06:06 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,953
Default Re: Is Apple M1 Working Finally?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fish Horse View Post
my Mac Pro 10core trashcan
Oh you also have the custom mod? I thought I was the only one. Apple only ever sold 4/6/8/12 core but never 10-core.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-15-2021, 01:01 AM
jeremiahmoore jeremiahmoore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 488
Default Re: Is Apple M1 Working Finally?

Been curious what happens when you have a mix of M1 native and Intel plugins running on Rosetta2. (Or perhaps since PT is not M1 native yet, all plugins run as Intel code even if they support M1?)

Also how are things on Monterey? Looking to the new MBP's and that's all they run...

-jeremiah
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finally got it all working like it should!... Recording Room Artist Series 1 07-19-2014 10:37 PM
Pro Tools HD 8.1.1 on Win 7 64 bits - Finally working nobody Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 09-12-2011 12:56 AM
Apple's Flash Fix. Finally! But watch for HP Print.. aka21stCentury General Discussion 0 01-13-2011 09:34 AM
IT'S OVER___7.3 FINALLY working hki 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 20 12-22-2006 11:09 PM
Apple Finally Lose My Vote mike.x 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 10-23-2003 12:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com