Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-20-2010, 05:49 PM

Default Generating a click track

Hi.

I've never tried to do this before, I'm hoping some of you have some simple ways to pull it off:

I have a pre-recorded Violin recital, which was not recorded to a click, that I need to create a click track for. The tempo of the performance is pretty... ahhh...dynamic (read: sloppy). What's a good method for pulling this off?

I tapped it out on a Midi track with my little Korg Nano, then used Beat Detective to analyze/generate the click, but it was only as good as my tapping along...which wasn't perfect, especially since I was chasing an imperfect performance. I started going through and moving individual Midi notes closer to the beats, which helped but was taking forever. Got me thinking there must be a better way.

So, is there?

Thanks in advance

PT HD2 Accel v8.0.3, MacPro 8Core 2.26 running 10.6.2, 12Gig RAM
Old 04-20-2010, 06:12 PM

Default Re: Generating a click track

Quote:
Originally Posted by postmike View Post
Hi.

I've never tried to do this before, I'm hoping some of you have some simple ways to pull it off:

I have a pre-recorded Violin recital, which was not recorded to a click, that I need to create a click track for. The tempo of the performance is pretty... ahhh...dynamic (read: sloppy). What's a good method for pulling this off?