Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-29-2016, 04:53 AM
tmaca tmaca is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Ogden USA
Posts: 6
Default Win 10 playback device does not support sample rate

When trying to open a session created on another system, I get an error saying playback device doesn't support a 44.1 sample rate. The "answer" I find in the knowledge base is to either change to internal clock or reset the clock's sample rate. As is the case with a lot of things since MS did a forced "update" from Win 7 to Win 10 I have no idea how to do either one of those.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-29-2016, 06:00 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,399
Default Re: Win 10 playback device does not support sample rate

Pro Tools has a big issue with 3rd party interfaces and sample rates changes. There are lots of threads about the subject and Focusrite USB interfaces are particularly problematic. Try posting your system specs, do the optimizations recommended by Avid and Focusrite, go to Windows sound properties and remove your 2i2 as a system playback and recording device, try creating a new session at 44.1k...
Can't help much more, good luck and welcome to the forum!
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-29-2016, 06:33 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,520
Default Re: Win 10 playback device does not support sample rate

Those adjustments are exactly the same as win 7! Right click on the little speaker icon on the lower right.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-14-2016, 10:08 PM
tmaca tmaca is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Ogden USA
Posts: 6
Default Re: Win 10 playback device does not support sample rate

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Olhsson View Post
Those adjustments are exactly the same as win 7! Right click on the little speaker icon on the lower right.
Actually, cjanging the cpmputer's playback device doesn't work. Turns out I needed n ASIO driver, bue still had problems, then I had to start Pro Tools without the interface plugged in, then plug it in, then change by creating a new session and inporting tracks from the one I'd wanted to work on, using 44.1.

Or something like that. It's complicated enough that I have to experiment every time to get everything done in the right order to make it work and it may be weeks before I have it actually memorized correctyly. Doesn't help any that I'm working on things on both a Nac and a Win system, using flash drives to move sessions between different computers.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-14-2016, 10:27 PM
sw rec sw rec is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 6,437
Default Re: Win 10 playback device does not support sample rate

What interface are you using? Try installing its own driver instead of ASIO for ALL. And by all means, undesignate that interface as your default Windows playback device.

Last edited by sw rec; 12-15-2016 at 02:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-18-2016, 07:17 PM
tmaca tmaca is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Ogden USA
Posts: 6
Default Re: Win 10 playback device does not support sample rate

Quote:
Originally Posted by sw rec View Post
What interface are you using? Try installing its own driver instead of ASIO for ALL. And by all means, undesignate that interface as your default Windows playback device.
The Focusrite Scarlett driver is part of the problem. I had to install the ASIO to be able to do anything. If I'm remembering correctly, I have to use the ASIO driver when I start a session on my Win system, then plug in the interface and use the Focusrite driver when working on a session that originated on the MAC at the university.

To work on a session created on the MAC at the university I had to create a new session, then pull the tracks from the thumb drive into that new session, changing everything to 44.1. And just at which point in the whole process of getting Pro Tools up and running, creating a new session, and importing and converting the tracks from the thumb drive was an issue. It was a couple weeks ago, I haven't had to move anything between my Win 10 and the university's MAC since, so I forget just when I had to plug the interface into the computer. Right now I'm just glad I have a couple of weeks break and don't have to do anything. The next time that I have to move a session betweeen the systems I'll have to experiment. This last time I was under a deadline, and didn't even think about writing down the series of steps that finally worked. Next time I figure it out, I'll write it down.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
the current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 44.1 khz bzerk Pro Tools 12 11 05-03-2015 07:13 PM
The current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 48 kHz. allegrarc macOS 9 11-27-2014 09:43 PM
The current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 48 kHz oNeKOG Third Party Interfaces 3 09-08-2014 04:36 PM
playback engine don't support sample rate 48 khz evgpro Windows 15 05-04-2014 09:10 PM
Playback engine does not support sample rate RichrdC Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 08-16-2012 06:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com