Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-07-2003, 01:17 AM
uno1234 uno1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,459
Default Bring back the Lexiverb!

Sorry Digi, Lexiverb smokes the ReverbOne.

I miss it now that I've gone HD.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-07-2003, 03:06 AM
Sergent Pepper Sergent Pepper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: France
Posts: 49
Default Re: Bring back the Lexiverb!

I completly agree with you; it's really a great loss when you go HD , no other reverb plug-in replace it
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-07-2003, 03:10 AM
derF derF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 309
Default Re: Bring back the Lexiverb!

Definately.

It's the only complaint clients have when using our studio's HD rig.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-07-2003, 03:18 AM
GW GW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,709
Default Re: Bring back the Lexiverb!

Where is the problem Digi? License problems? Above 48 kHz? [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img]
__________________
PT 12.4.0, iMac 27" Retina 4GHz i7, 32GB RAM, PoCo x8,
Digi002 Fact., Logic X|FCPX|Motion
Plugins: Waves Diam. V9|Artist Sign Ser.|SSL|GTR3.5, TC MD3|Harm4|VSS3|DVR2|Nonlin|Unwrap, Sonnox Infl|Dyn, Autotune
VI: Reason 8, Ivory It., Trilian|Omnisphere, VG2/RealGuitar, Kontakt6|GPO, Goliath|Gypsy|Fab Four, Candy, Structure, EZdrum, BIAB Audiophile
Hardware: TLM49|TLM103, SPL Track One, TC M-One, Artist Contr.v2|Transp|3xMix
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-07-2003, 08:15 AM
Mark Haliday Mark Haliday is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 770
Default Re: Bring back the Lexiverb!

There several factors to take in account here :

There is more money to be made developing chips and the software that goes with it and selling it in expensive boxes. Why would Lexicon write plugins for DSP chips that are not optimal for reverb application, have clients run 5 reverbs when having bought one plugin, and on top of it get ripped off by people who... well you know, people who don't care to buy floppy drives.

The real solution would be for Digidesign to team up with several companies (like Lexicon, TCworks, etc.) to put together some kind of LAN-TDM bus interface to interconnect hardware dynamically like the old lexicon (nubus?) hardware or the hard samplecell. The idea would be for that bus not to be computer hardware specific like PCI or nubus.
Remember MIDI ? What a lesson to be learned. Once invented it needed the clout of companies like Yamaha to impose that standard, but everyone benefited from that, even though at first sight some companies like Roland had developed their own stuff, fearful of economic fallout from interconnecting units from different manufacturers...

The key to all this is selling hardware. It is a sad fact that there is more money to be made from selling systems to studios who need plenty interfaces to mix on their Neve/ssl/etc., than to virtual 100% Protools configuration who can run a whole studio on 16 I/O

That is why I fear that it is going to be difficult getting the Lexiverb back for those running HD or PT6... [img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-07-2003, 09:53 AM
Robert U Robert U is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Dubai U.A.E
Posts: 769
Default Re: Bring back the Lexiverb!

I also miss it... but this is common digi policy: why port Lexiverb to HD when they can sell ReverbOne?!
__________________
www.extensivemusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-07-2003, 10:21 AM
Fokke van Saane Fokke van Saane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 474
Default Re: Bring back the Lexiverb!

If you are REALLY attached to some of your Lexiverb settings you can buy Altiverb, and capture your beloves settings and use them in Altiverb instead. Agree, takes more dsp/cpu and has less flexibility, but its a workaround. But i bet if you have Altiverb you'd probably use the Lexiverb settings less and use the 480L settings instead! I find myself doing that.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-07-2003, 10:29 AM
Steve MacMillan Steve MacMillan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 2,038
Default Re: Bring back the Lexiverb!

I've said this before. Lexicon and TC should come up with a 1U, 4 engine box with AES i/o and a HTDM plug-in that controls each engine (midi?). It could support different DAWs, they could sell their premium chips, and we would have the convenience of a plug-in with automation and instant recall.

sm
__________________
macmandigital.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-07-2003, 10:47 AM
bluemt bluemt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 392
Default Re: Bring back the Lexiverb!

For the record. Lexicon simply licensed their name and didn't develop the Lexiverb. Not that matters if you like it; But don't confuse it with a Lexicon reverb.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-07-2003, 10:47 AM
jay73 jay73 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Arizona
Posts: 15
Default Re: Bring back the Lexiverb!

I agree, Bring lexiverb back. I can't seem to make a patch like their Invertigo preset. The whole thing just rocked. I'm still looking for a reverb that's remotely close to Lexiverb and its offerings. [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bring back the 99.99 joesackic Pro Tools 10 2 10-28-2011 02:18 AM
need your help to bring back my 002.. nadex 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 02-09-2005 03:49 PM
WAY OT: Bring Back the Magic valvebrother General Discussion 1 01-11-2005 12:03 PM
Bring back RAM Disk?????? Kenny Gioia Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 17 07-28-2003 12:33 PM
Bring Back SoftSamplecell for OS X roberts General Discussion 4 04-26-2003 10:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com