Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 08-09-2001, 02:25 PM

Default Sync recording from sequencer

I'm trying to record audio from my keyboard into protools. I need to record all the tracks seperately at different takes from a sequence. I need to have protools automatically start recording when I press "play" on my sequencer (k2500), or have protools make my keyboard start playing when I start recording so all the tracks line up. I'm new to protools, I've read through some stuff but haven't found anything useful except using the "wait for note" along with doing a 4 beat count off on my sequencer. However when I do this the first click is cut off, and I have my doubts as to if this is really a good way to do it, since I'm not recording midi only audio. Whats the best way to do this? I can only record 1 stereo track at a time from my keyboard.
Old 08-09-2001, 02:52 PM

Default Re: Sync recording from sequencer

Once you get the system to sync you'll be very happy...Try this. set your sequencer to External sync. In Protools setup the session w/ bars and beats and enter the same bpm as the sequence. In "session setup" you should be able to tell Protools to send midi time code out to your k2500. press play on Protools.. the sequence should start.

If you find yourself going bonkers w/ the Midi thing... here's a solution that will take advantage of Protools strongest suit.

Create a bar of click at the beginning of your sequence.
Play your sequence 2 tracks at a time into Protools...( make sure to record the bar of click w/ each pair)
When you're done, simply sync up the tracks "by hand" using the click reference.

Good luck
|
Old 08-09-2001, 04:55 PM