Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-29-2003, 01:02 AM
Haigbabe Haigbabe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 959
Default Locking to external clock ... 002

Anybody had any trouble with getting the 002 to recognise external clock?

Mine is driving me nuts!

Best regards,

Haigbabe
__________________
Drive fast, take chances
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-29-2003, 01:25 AM
Phil O'Keefe Phil O'Keefe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Southern CA USA
Posts: 2,922
Default Re: Locking to external clock ... 002

I use a Lucid GENx6, which is clocking everything else in my studio - and one of my Yamaha AW4416's (which is clocked via the Lucid) is feeding the Digi 002 clock info via S/PDIF or lightpipe (depends on what I'm doing at the moment). The Digi 002 is set to external clock (ADAT or S/PDIF). It's never been a problem for me and has worked without hassle or fail since day one.

What sort of problems is it giving you?
__________________
Phil O'Keefe

PT 2023.6 Ultimate (Perpetual) | Avid Carbon | M1 Max Mac Studio; 32 GB RAM / 1 TB SSD, macOS 13.4.1 Ventura.

PT 2023.6 Studio (Perpetual) | M1 MacBook Air; 16 GB RAM / 1 TB SSD, macOS 13.4.1 Ventura.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-29-2003, 01:44 AM
Haigbabe Haigbabe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 959
Default Re: Locking to external clock ... 002

Greetings Phil.

I'm using my Benchmark DAC-1

Set 002 to use external clock (this is the same on either coax or optic s/pdif). The DAC-1 gives its signal that it has locked (blue light and no reds) but PT says "invalid clock, switching to internal".

If I fiddle with different setting and/or plug or unplug cables etc it will eventually lock.

Ideas?

Haigbabe
__________________
Drive fast, take chances
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-29-2003, 02:45 AM
banana boy banana boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 283
Default Re: Locking to external clock ... 002

Maybe the cables are suspect? Both my D002's (the second replacement machine was shipped from UK to fix the first one's cable harness problem) worked fine clocked over SPDIF from TC outboard gear (gold channel and/or finalizer 96) or over ADAT from the tc gear or from an Octopre.

The only thing I have to remember is to set the clock rate of the outboard gear to the clock rate of the session ... been doing 48k work for video and most of my other stuff is still 44.1 and if I leave the outboard in 44.1 the 48k sessions of course revert to internal to remind me ...
__________________
Yebo!
Duncan
www.shillingfox.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-29-2003, 07:26 AM
Haigbabe Haigbabe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 959
Default Re: Locking to external clock ... 002

OK this looks like my mistake.

I thought that PT should slave to the DAC-1 but Benchmark tell me it works the other way. I end with jitter-free audio anyway apparently.

My brain doesn't hurt any more, it's just gone numb.

Best regards,

Haigbabe
__________________
Drive fast, take chances
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-30-2003, 12:40 AM
Phil O'Keefe Phil O'Keefe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Southern CA USA
Posts: 2,922
Default Re: Locking to external clock ... 002

Cool - glad you got it figgured out!

BTW, does the Benchmark DAC-1 have a BNC word clock input jack on it?
__________________
Phil O'Keefe

PT 2023.6 Ultimate (Perpetual) | Avid Carbon | M1 Max Mac Studio; 32 GB RAM / 1 TB SSD, macOS 13.4.1 Ventura.

PT 2023.6 Studio (Perpetual) | M1 MacBook Air; 16 GB RAM / 1 TB SSD, macOS 13.4.1 Ventura.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protools CPTK2 or Native for locking up to an external device s0und80y Post - Surround - Video 3 01-26-2011 05:34 PM
Question: Auto-locking and Mute locking Charles Deenen Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-25-2010 01:07 PM
HD clock or external clock Beegster Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 25 10-03-2002 10:01 AM
192i/o Internal Clock vs. Other External Clock everglass Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 08-27-2002 08:51 AM
digital noise when locking to external source gadget Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-25-2000 08:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com