Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2011, 10:25 PM
s0und80y s0und80y is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Melbourne AU
Posts: 169
Default Protools CPTK2 or Native for locking up to an external device

Hi crew,

I'm in the process of putting together a new post production rig/
I'm tossing up between a CPTK2 mbox pro rig or a Native PCIE.

Most of my work will be recording the mix and stems back into the box, however.
I may need to lock up my system to a a digi or HD rig, and also a fairlight in the future when doing film work.

If i'm slaving LTC and converting to midi with an mbox pro, what is the drift?
Is it reliable enough, when working with a Fairlight will it lock up fast enough?

Should I just stick with a native PCIE and a Sync i/o ???



Cheers

Mark
__________________
Been in the biz since 96
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-25-2011, 01:11 AM
s0und80y s0und80y is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Melbourne AU
Posts: 169
Default Re: Protools CPTK2 or Native for locking up to an external device

Anyone here lock up to a deck using a MBOX Pro or 003 and Motu time piece ?
How reliable is it?
Ive read the sync can drift a little, is this true ?
__________________
Been in the biz since 96
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-25-2011, 04:50 PM
cananball cananball is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 338
Default Re: Protools CPTK2 or Native for locking up to an external device

I use a MOTU digital timepiece with an 003, mainly to sync my mojo and wordclock to blackburst. I have never used it with a deck but it is entirely possible. TVPostSound says he's done hundreds of laybacks this way. It has 9 pin control and converts LTC to MTC.

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t...ital+timepiece
IMHO this box is great if you don't need tri-sync

Best
__________________
Ken Wilkinson
http://kenwilkinson.tv

Pro Tools 10.3.9 HDN | HD Omni | Digi Command 8 | Artist Transport | Digi Surround Panner | Blackmagic Intensity Pro | JBL LSR4328 5.1
2.26GHz 8 Core Nehelam 8GB Ram OSX 10.8.5
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-26-2011, 05:34 PM
s0und80y s0und80y is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Melbourne AU
Posts: 169
Default Re: Protools CPTK2 or Native for locking up to an external device

Quote:
Originally Posted by cananball View Post
I use a MOTU digital timepiece with an 003, mainly to sync my mojo and wordclock to blackburst. I have never used it with a deck but it is entirely possible. TVPostSound says he's done hundreds of laybacks this way. It has 9 pin control and converts LTC to MTC.

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t...ital+timepiece
IMHO this box is great if you don't need tri-sync

Best
Thanks, I was looking for that post.
__________________
Been in the biz since 96
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trade my 003 for protools 10 HD or CPTK2 rustyvst Buy & Sell 3 07-13-2012 01:38 PM
Protools 9HD(CPTK2) to PT10? acelo Pro Tools 10 45 10-26-2011 01:07 PM
MBOX 3 Pro CPTK2 or Native HD s0und80y Post - Surround - Video 3 01-26-2011 09:01 PM
Locking to external clock ... 002 Haigbabe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 05-30-2003 12:40 AM
digital noise when locking to external source gadget Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-25-2000 08:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com