Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2010, 01:09 AM
banjo71 banjo71 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Roanoke, IL
Posts: 210
Default saving plugin settings

I've got a Pro Tools question involving plugins. Let's say I've got a project with 12 songs, and I found an EQ, for instance, that suits the guitar well. So I save the setting and call it dougguitar. Then I go into each of the other 11 songs and set the guitar EQ to dougguitar so each song will sound the same concerning the guitar.

Now say I change my mind about the EQ dougguitar, and I change one session by tweaking the EQ dougguitar. It will appear italicized on the plug in now. I save the setting so it reflects the new EQ setting on that song. The italics go away.

Here's the million dollar question: Is there a preset save function that updates all sessions with that old dougguitar EQ to the new dougguitar EQ, without going into each session manually and updating the EQ for each session?

Doug
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2010, 03:37 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,647
Default Re: saving plugin settings

I have always written a new preset, so I can't say for sure, but I would guess no. Good question.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2024 HDX Hybrid
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-21-2010, 12:19 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,877
Default Re: saving plugin settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by banjo71 View Post

Here's the million dollar question: Is there a preset save function that updates all sessions with that old dougguitar EQ to the new dougguitar EQ, without going into each session manually and updating the EQ for each session?

Doug
Unfortunately there is not. You have to manually load the new setting in each session.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saving session plugin settings David P. Green 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 07-24-2006 06:03 AM
Plugin Settings not saving to local session folder dcarlson247 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-02-2004 01:20 PM
saving plugin settings to session folder-how? david kowalski Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-21-2003 11:56 AM
Saving plugin settings before switching to XP..... Roy Howell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 10-16-2002 09:29 AM
Saving plugin settings Jason from MaggieJack 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-12-2001 08:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com