Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-15-2009, 12:00 AM
Shifted Music's Avatar
Shifted Music Shifted Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,010
Default MCDSP Synth one crash

Anyone experiencing a crash with MC DSP synth one?? I put the VI on (10 voice RTAS but TDM plug in version) then selected the first pre set in the sequences folder when the system beach balled and then PT dissapeared.

I am working on a le system with a G5 Dual. I did notce after that my airport was on and transmit was open (ftp app)

If anyone from digi is interested, all other system config, notes, and plug in list, plus the session file itself is contained in this link.

http://shiftedmusic.com/digi/SM_LTG_...n_and_info.zip

all my settings and pefs, databases and what not was trashed recently altthough not right at the time of this crash. All other details and stuff in in the text file contained in the .zip- linked to above
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-15-2009, 08:41 AM
Shifted Music's Avatar
Shifted Music Shifted Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: MCDSP Synth one crash

http://developer.apple.com/qa/qa2004/qa1367.html

heres some info for digi on EXC_BAD_ACCESS bugs.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-15-2009, 12:21 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,877
Default Re: MCDSP Synth one crash

I can't repro on my system, but I'll check out your session and get back to you...
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2009, 12:41 PM
Shifted Music's Avatar
Shifted Music Shifted Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: MCDSP Synth one crash

last night i went to bed after the crash. . and before I did I trashed all

digiset up
dae prefs foldr
pro rools prefs
com.digidesign.protools.plist
databases folder
volumes folder

opened the session up just now
made a new stereo inst track
inserted a synth one 10 voice
selected the first patch in the sequences presets folder

(just as I did last night)

and then same thing. spinning beach ball for a few seconds then PT dissapears with a crash.

I am sorry but I didn't save this new crash report.

one glyph 500g drive connected via fw800 but NOT turned on.

I am using the usb hub built into my dell 2001fp 20 inch monitor

i will now remove that hub and disconnect the drive

will report back
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-15-2009, 01:04 PM
Shifted Music's Avatar
Shifted Music Shifted Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: MCDSP Synth one crash

ok did the trashing and restarted
repaired permissions and restarted

as mentioned no drives or hubs connected.

same crash/ different thread. new link for new session file and new crash log. (technically same session)

again I make a stereo inst track, load a 10 voice Synth one select arp 1 from the presets folder sequences 1

http://shiftedmusic.com/digi/SM_LTG_...n_and_info.zip
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-15-2009, 01:49 PM
Shifted Music's Avatar
Shifted Music Shifted Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: MCDSP Synth one crash

ok one more time...

http://shiftedmusic.com/digi/SM_LTG_...ig_plugins.zip

This time I just trashed
digiset up
dae prefs
pt prefs
com.digidesign.protools.plist
database
volumes
com.apple.audio.AudioMidiSetup.plist
By Host: com.apple.Midi.xxx.plist
com.digidesign.coreauidomanagerxxx.plist

basically all the options in the Pro Tools pref and database helper

I also had just repaired permissions.

I then made a new session once pro tools opened.
imported session data from the original session.
went to the project window and copied and relinked all the audio files into the new session folder's audio files foler

and then just as before...
make a new stereo inst track
inserted a synth one 10voice synth
tried to load the plug in preset "arp 1" from the setting folder "sequences 1"

and of course... crash.

I have emailed MCDSP support the link to this thread as well.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-15-2009, 02:03 PM
Shifted Music's Avatar
Shifted Music Shifted Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: MCDSP Synth one crash

ok well went back to the first crashing session after doing the same trashing.

opened a 8 voice synth one and tried the arp 2 pre set (2nd sequences pre set)

and it loaded fine... HMMMM...

then switched the plug in to the 10 voice one and boom... crash...

the saga continues.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-15-2009, 09:41 PM
Shifted Music's Avatar
Shifted Music Shifted Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: MCDSP Synth one crash

Ok so I have an update... I spoke to Colin from MCdsp and apparently a few of the settings. . for some reason. . will crash in Pro Tools 8... they are not sure why and will be getting to the problem soon..

For now just know that a few presets will do this... no need to pull your hair out trouble shooting... hopefully a fix is coming soon.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-22-2009, 04:36 PM
mdanielson007 mdanielson007 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 33
Default Re: MCDSP Synth one crash

I think it's because TDM plugs don't work on LE..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-22-2009, 04:37 PM
mdanielson007 mdanielson007 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 33
Default Re: MCDSP Synth one crash

Voice numbers could be to blame too..

In LE you don't get near as many voices as HD
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Arturia ARP2600 virtual synth Pro Tools HD10.3.5 = CRASH!!! noeqplease Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-20-2013 11:04 PM
McDSP Synth One TDM/RTAS difference Stig Eliassen Virtual Instruments 10 06-06-2010 10:21 AM
Stuck notes with McDSP Synth One HD Stig Eliassen Virtual Instruments 3 05-27-2010 09:01 AM
McDSP Filterbank 3.4 Crash emf1138 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-17-2004 09:38 PM
Anyone using SynthSpider or McDSP synth one Dutchmuzik Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 07-05-2002 12:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com