Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2003, 01:26 AM
soundboy35 soundboy35 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Depends
Posts: 1,306
Default Session sample rates & Soft Sample Cell

I recorded a session at 48k/16bit, with audio MIDI & Soft Sample Cell samples,
and all was well.
When I do a bounce to disk at 44.1/AIFF,(for a CD) the song plays back at a faster speed.
(I used convert after bounce/Best setting)

Seems the only way to get the session audio to play back correctly is to change the
session sample rate to 44.1, but the Sample Cell drums play back off beat.

Turns out the samples I'm using are 44.1 in a 48k session.
How can I fix this? I tried to move the Sample Cell MIDI track to fit the audio, and
change the session sample rate to 44.1 but it's still off....what gives?

Samples are located on a seperate FW drive
Session is on a 10K SCSI external drive.

Need help ASAP, doing a song for new DVD project for TV!!

G4 533
PT 5.1.3,
MIX Core, 2 DSP farms
882/20 x2
MOTU MTP-AV



Thanks,


Steve
__________________
MacBook Pro 15in, 2.3gHz,i7
PT 2021.x
PT12.8.x
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-26-2003, 08:14 AM
Helge Krabye Helge Krabye is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 211
Default Re: Session sample rates & Soft Sample Cell

As far as I know, SoftSampleCell plays back samples with various sample frequencies and sample rates without problem. When you bounce a ProTools Session to disk, ProTools behaves exactly like when you play back the Session in realtime (Play-button). Are you sure that you have no digital devices connected to your rig, like sampler or DAT-recorder? If harware setup is set to digital in and your sampler is in 44,1 kHz, this will affect the playback of Protools.

Helge
__________________
Helge Krabye
Official artist page: Homeless Balloon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-26-2003, 11:32 AM
soundboy35 soundboy35 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Depends
Posts: 1,306
Default Re: Session sample rates & Soft Sample Cell

No digital devices are connected.
In "Hardware Setups" both cards are set to internal.

At one point I did have my MTP-AV connected to my 882's
via word clock,DIGI/48k(the 882's being slaves)

I didn't notice anywhere in sample cell to set the sample rates
unless I'm missing something somewhere.

Very strange that the audio only plays back in correct pitch by changing the
session sample rate at 44.1 from the previous 48k
I wonder if the solution is to bounce the audio tracks at 44.1 to a
new session and then make an audio file of the sample cell stuff at 48
and try to import that file... what a headache

Anyone???
__________________
MacBook Pro 15in, 2.3gHz,i7
PT 2021.x
PT12.8.x
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-26-2003, 12:16 PM
soundboy35 soundboy35 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Depends
Posts: 1,306
Default Re: Session sample rates & Soft Sample Cell

Well, I changed the word clock in the MTP-AV to 44.1/DIGI and with Pro Tools
at the original 48 session rate, everything plays fine now...in the session.

Problem is when I do bounce to disk at 44.1, for a CD, the audio is too fast, on the bounced file.
I tried converting to 44.1 during bounce and after, and get the same result.
If I do a bounce at 48, as soon as I open it in toast (v5.1.4) the conversion window opens,
and the file still plays back at the faster speed....what am I missing?


Steve
__________________
MacBook Pro 15in, 2.3gHz,i7
PT 2021.x
PT12.8.x
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-26-2003, 06:11 PM
soundboy35 soundboy35 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Depends
Posts: 1,306
Default Re: Session sample rates & Soft Sample Cell

C'mon people, take a break from b******* about your
Accel & HD systems and help a dude out

I thought that's what this forum is for
__________________
MacBook Pro 15in, 2.3gHz,i7
PT 2021.x
PT12.8.x
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT6 e SOFT Sample Cell edemunari Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-10-2003 05:11 AM
soft sample cell and HD Byfar Prod Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 04-18-2002 11:51 AM
Soft Sample Cell JLEpperson General Discussion 2 06-04-2001 07:42 AM
sample cell II upgrade to sample cell soft robi3 Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 05-23-2001 08:24 PM
Soft Sample Cell JLEpperson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-14-2001 09:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com