Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-28-2022, 07:18 AM
luisaudio luisaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Chile
Posts: 2
Default Protools Video Black screen while playback with no noticiable avid video engine error

Everything was working fine with videos imported into Protools 2022.7 (in windows) but out of nowhere, every video imported into a protools session can’t be seen while playback. It only shows a black screen in the video window inside protools.

I tried everything I could think of. Here is a list of what I’ve tried:

1) change protools version from 2021.7 to 2022.7
2) disable and re-enable avid video engine from playback engine option.
3) check a variety of video formats and codecs
4) double check that the session frame rate setup matches video framerate
5) change video drivers installed in windows
6) verify that video files does not have non-standard characters in their names
7) clean uninstall and reinstall protools

I have found someone that had the same problems but in MacOS and they solve it by deleting to folders. However, one of these folders doesn’t exist in windows.

Please need help with this. Thanks in advance


Enviado desde mi iPhone utilizando Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-28-2022, 05:24 PM
sw rec sw rec is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 6,426
Default Re: Protools Video Black screen while playback with no noticiable avid video engine e

Zero system info……
https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=300050
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-14-2022, 02:24 AM
FRE3DOM's Avatar
FRE3DOM FRE3DOM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2
Default Re: Protools Video Black screen while playback with no noticiable avid video engine e

1. Go to C:\Program Files\Avid\AVX2_Plug-ins and empty the contents of this folder.
2. Go to C:\Users\Public\Documents\Avid Video Engine and empty the contents of this folder, but DO NOT delete the actual folder - or PT video engine will not start. (Avid FatalErrorReports will repopulate after you reboot pro tools)
3. Restart PT
4. Go to Preferences/Operation in PT and uncheck 'Enable GPU'

After much frustration this solved the issue for me - and I now believe that the 'black screen' issue has something to do with the 'Enable GPU setting' - which might be preventing video playback.

Hope this helps!
__________________
Kyle Riccio
Sound Designer / Sound Editor
www.kylericcio.com - IMDb
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-14-2022, 09:12 AM
Noahjallen Noahjallen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
Location: Arizona
Posts: 4
Default Re: Protools Video Black screen while playback with no noticiable avid video engine e

Hi there I hate to hijack the question, but what about the same folders for Mac that are supposed to be deleted? I am on an M1 Mac specifically. I have tried deleting those folders before and they repopulate and I have the same issue. Is it normal for those folders to repopulate in the same location on my computer? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-14-2022, 11:07 AM
FRE3DOM's Avatar
FRE3DOM FRE3DOM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2
Default Re: Protools Video Black screen while playback with no noticiable avid video engine e

Hey there - to my knowledge, the 'Avid Video Engine' folder itself should repopulate automatically on Mac, but the only folder that should repopulate within that after clearing it is 'Avid FatalErrorReports'.

Is the 'AVX2_Plug-ins' repopulating too?

Have you tried disabling the 'Enable GPU' setting?
__________________
Kyle Riccio
Sound Designer / Sound Editor
www.kylericcio.com - IMDb
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-15-2022, 03:23 AM
luisaudio luisaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Chile
Posts: 2
Default Re: Protools Video Black screen while playback with no noticiable avid video engine e

Quote:
Originally Posted by FRE3DOM View Post
1. Go to C:\Program Files\Avid\AVX2_Plug-ins and empty the contents of this folder.
2. Go to C:\Users\Public\Documents\Avid Video Engine and empty the contents of this folder, but DO NOT delete the actual folder - or PT video engine will not start. (Avid FatalErrorReports will repopulate after you reboot pro tools)
3. Restart PT
4. Go to Preferences/Operation in PT and uncheck 'Enable GPU'

After much frustration this solved the issue for me - and I now believe that the 'black screen' issue has something to do with the 'Enable GPU setting' - which might be preventing video playback.

Hope this helps!

Thanks a lot for your help. Here is an update to the problem and a possible solution.

It seems that this problem has something to do with AMD video card drivers. I have to install the recommended previous AMD Adrenaline Video driver, which is v. 22.5.1 (not the last one) in order to partially fix the problem.

Now I can import and see the videos but I cannot import the audio from the video because protools crashes. And when I import a video I have to close session and reopen it, otherwise the video produce playback errors and delay in the commands. I hope this helps.


Enviado desde mi iPhone utilizando Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-28-2022, 09:25 PM
ZorkNation ZorkNation is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 10
Default Re: Protools Video Black screen while playback with no noticiable avid video engine e

Not sure if this might help for Mac:

https://gearspace.com/board/post-pro...-playback.html
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-28-2022, 10:02 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 24,984
Default Re: Protools Video Black screen while playback with no noticiable avid video engine e

Hi, welcome to the community luisaudio.

Please be aware that whenn you use tapatalk as a newbie, your posts will go to manual approval until "good" post count is reached.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-30-2023, 09:08 PM
NateAlexander NateAlexander is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 112
Default Re: Protools Video Black screen while playback with no noticiable avid video engine e

Quote:
Originally Posted by FRE3DOM View Post
1. Go to C:\Program Files\Avid\AVX2_Plug-ins and empty the contents of this folder.
2. Go to C:\Users\Public\Documents\Avid Video Engine and empty the contents of this folder, but DO NOT delete the actual folder - or PT video engine will not start. (Avid FatalErrorReports will repopulate after you reboot pro tools)
3. Restart PT
4. Go to Preferences/Operation in PT and uncheck 'Enable GPU'

After much frustration this solved the issue for me - and I now believe that the 'black screen' issue has something to do with the 'Enable GPU setting' - which might be preventing video playback.

Hope this helps!
Just chiming in on thread to +1 this solution for anyone who runs into it
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-18-2023, 03:48 PM
bakerja bakerja is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nashville
Posts: 115
Default Re: Protools Video Black screen while playback with no noticiable avid video engine e

Quote:
Originally Posted by FRE3DOM View Post
4. Go to Preferences/Operation in PT and uncheck 'Enable GPU'

After much frustration this solved the issue for me - and I now believe that the 'black screen' issue has something to do with the 'Enable GPU setting' - which might be preventing video playback.

Hope this helps!
Yes, this is the fix for me. Disable GPU. But why? Is this an AMD issue or PT? My system seems to function fine with GPU disabled but seems if there is an option to use the GPU, it should work, right?

Thanks,
jab
__________________
Current system:
Pro Tools Studio annual
Windows 10 Pro
MSI home build
11th Gen Intel i7-11700K @ 3.60GHz
32g RAM, 6Tb SSD
AVID Dock w/Android 10" Tablet
IK Multimedia AXE I/O
Behringer U-Phoria UMC1820 USB Audio Interface


Bakerplace.net A place for Audio/Video Post Production.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Engine "Network clock is not locked" error when screen sharing video over skype piuretig Post - Surround - Video 0 01-12-2022 01:37 PM
Video Black Screen During Playback in PT 2020.9.1 josoro505 Post - Surround - Video 2 10-24-2020 02:29 PM
Black Video Screen Playback George2000 Pro Tools 2018 0 04-24-2019 07:25 AM
No Video Playback (Black Video window and thumbs) winkelement Pro Tools 12 13 03-17-2016 11:03 AM
AVID video engine playback issue Audio_Vision Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 04-08-2011 01:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com