Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-18-2011, 04:27 PM
bscism bscism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19
Default firewire connection ?

I have the MBox 3rd generation which connects by way of firewire. Unfortunately, firewire is less and less common - a new laptop that I'm thinking of no longer incudes them but rather have gone to a USB 3 input which I'm told is faster than the firewire. so my question is this - is there an adapter available anywhere that allows a firewire to connect to a USB port, the new USB 3 port?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-18-2011, 06:12 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,935
Default Re: firewire connection ?

Does the laptop have an express card slot?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ExpressCard
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Motherboard: Gigabyte Z690 AERO D
CPU: Intel Alder Lake Core i9-12900K
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D15S
RAM: Corsair Vengeance DDR5 64GB (2x 32gb 5200MHz)
Drives: 2 x Samsung 980 Pro 2TB NVME PCIE 4.0 M.2 SSD (Record & Samples)
1 x Samsung 980 Pro 1TB NVME PCIE 4.0 M.2 SSD (OS Win 11 Pro)

GPU:Gigabyte GeForce RTX 3060 12GB GDDR6 PCIE 4
PSU: Corsair HX Series HX850 Platinim
CASE: Fractal Define XL R2
PT 11HD (v11.3.2) Omni s/pdif <> AxeFxIII
HD 96I/O
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-18-2011, 06:16 PM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bscism View Post
I have the MBox 3rd generation which connects by way of firewire. Unfortunately, firewire is less and less common - a new laptop that I'm thinking of no longer incudes them but rather have gone to a USB 3 input which I'm told is faster than the firewire. so my question is this - is there an adapter available anywhere that allows a firewire to connect to a USB port, the new USB 3 port?
No such thing. USB and FireWire are totally different protocols. A FireWire expresscard is your best bet, if it has an expresscard slot.
__________________
Dell T5810. Harrison Mixbus 32C. Haven't used PT since 2015 and never been happier.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
firewire and connection issues barrel90 Windows 3 02-19-2013 11:08 PM
Macbook pro with 002 (firewire connection) Nicky2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 06-18-2010 07:33 PM
PT 6.9 & 002 Firewire connection HELP!!! narnia040 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-18-2005 08:02 PM
002 firewire connection ok? doubleyouel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-23-2002 01:58 PM
Firewire Connection Conundrum Mark Wheaton Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 04-27-2002 09:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com