Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-23-2010, 12:59 PM
blackmajik2021 blackmajik2021 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: brooklyn, N.Y.
Posts: 3
Default When will pro tools introduce a truly modern GUI?

DAWs like Logic & Presonus studio one have really beautiful looking GUIs, when do you think digi will introduce a new gui into pro tools? I feel like they hired a seriously amateur graphic designer to do the 7 > 8 upgrade.

why do you guys think there was no upgrade in pt9? A gui overhaul isn't exactly something that requires massive resources.

I think I may actually go back to using logic because PT9 is so ugly, now that every studio will have the ability to import AAF's and OMF's there's not as much reason for me to have to use PT.

that being said, I would rather use PT9 than logic for compatibility reasons, but I dont think I can look at these ugly colors all day.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-23-2010, 01:03 PM
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,902
Default Re: When will pro tools introduce a truly modern GUI?

No offense, but maybe you should try out the coiffeur-business or something, if you make decisions based upon the GUI of a DAW.
I couldn't care less about it, as long as it doesn't shoot neon lasers into my eyes, changing the shape of my retina.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-23-2010, 01:19 PM
dgkenney dgkenney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 72
Default Re: When will pro tools introduce a truly modern GUI?

Give your eyes a rest. Track, mix and master with your ears.

Dan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-23-2010, 01:28 PM
blackmajik2021 blackmajik2021 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: brooklyn, N.Y.
Posts: 3
Default Re: When will pro tools introduce a truly modern GUI?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dgkenney View Post
Give your eyes a rest. Track, mix and master with your ears.

Dan
If I could only afford to buy a mackie control
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-23-2010, 01:28 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: When will pro tools introduce a truly modern GUI?

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackmajik2021 View Post
DAWs like Logic & Presonus studio one have really beautiful looking GUIs, when do you think digi will introduce a new gui into pro tools? I feel like they hired a seriously amateur graphic designer to do the 7 > 8 upgrade.

why do you guys think there was no upgrade in pt9? A gui overhaul isn't exactly something that requires massive resources.

I think I may actually go back to using logic because PT9 is so ugly, now that every studio will have the ability to import AAF's and OMF's there's not as much reason for me to have to use PT.

that being said, I would rather use PT9 than logic for compatibility reasons, but I dont think I can look at these ugly colors all day.
They just redid the GUI in version 8. Its going to look like this for some time. Your going to want to find a DAW you can skin. Thats not PT.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-23-2010, 01:30 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,671
Default Re: When will pro tools introduce a truly modern GUI?

I actually prefer pt gui. Hands down. Its clean.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-23-2010, 03:41 PM
Draulym Draulym is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bunbury West Oz
Posts: 217
Default Re: When will pro tools introduce a truly modern GUI?

Quote:
Originally Posted by necjamc View Post
I actually prefer pt gui. Hands down. Its clean.
Me too - best one around IMO!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-23-2010, 03:45 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: When will pro tools introduce a truly modern GUI?

Studio One has a lotta nice things about it especially bein' in v1...however it's GUI is one of my least fav things about it. i'll take PT's GUI any day...but as you know it all comes down to one's personal preference hope you find somethin' that works for ya...
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-23-2010, 03:46 PM
macakinho macakinho is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: When will pro tools introduce a truly modern GUI?

Quote:
Originally Posted by necjamc View Post
I actually prefer pt gui. Hands down. Its clean.
+1
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-23-2010, 03:49 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: When will pro tools introduce a truly modern GUI?

Quote:
Originally Posted by necjamc View Post
I actually prefer pt gui. Hands down. Its clean.
+1

Werd.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Let me introduce myself Wheat Williams Avid Scorch (iOS) Forum 1 08-17-2011 01:47 AM
Allow myself to introduce myself! DJ UrbnLgnd Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 10-30-2010 06:38 AM
Can the Mac Introduce Hum Over Firewire To 002? tomhartman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-29-2005 05:10 PM
Please allow me to introduce myself... Remon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-21-2004 04:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com