Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-26-2020, 12:16 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,877
Default Re: How to make Pro Tools tutorials for FREE - Record screen & ASIO audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy McDude View Post
Thanks for the video!


Question regarding your recording audio separately to the Zoom recorder, and importing later.


How do you ensure sync between the OBS video screen capture, and the audio from your stand alone recorder?


thanks in advance,
I don't do it that way anymore, but I use to click the mouse very loudly on the Pro Tools Mix window which was behind the edit window, and the mic would pick up the mouse click and I could sync to frame.

I have updated the links at the bottom of the post with more recent methods.

The way I do it today is either by using two interfaces or loopback.

Everything is recorded into OBS that way and ready to go.

I pop the video in to Pro Tools and extract the audio. Fix up the vocal track. Bounce it out. And edit it all together in DaVinci Resolve.

If you don't have loopback or another audio interface to use AND you are on Windows, I would probably suggest the Voicemeeter Potato method. Or the FL Studio Driver method IF you don't need to use inputs.

This is the latest video.

The ULTIMATE Guide To Screencast Your DAW - Voicemeeter Potato & OBS/Streamlabs
https://youtu.be/Dr9kF9yRQ74
__________________
Brian

Windows 11 Pro | macOS 12
Pro Tools 2021
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-30-2020, 01:08 AM
Guy McDude Guy McDude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: US
Posts: 302
Default Re: How to make Pro Tools tutorials for FREE - Record screen & ASIO audio

Thanks for the reply, and for the in depth video.


Im NOT a Windows guy, 100% Apple.


But I could use my laptop with a Presonus interface as the second PT rig.
But would like to keep the the "star" / screen record PT rig as my Mac Pro / HDX system.


I guess I could patch the L/R out of the HDX rig plus a V.O. mic [ 3 total tracks] into the Presonus interface and use the loopback into OBS, correct?


thanks again for the time.
__________________
Best,
Sean

Sean McDonald
Red Medicine Recording LLC
Sofa King Music Services
http://www.seanmcdonald.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-08-2020, 12:45 AM
Guy McDude Guy McDude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: US
Posts: 302
Default Re: How to make Pro Tools tutorials for FREE - Record screen & ASIO audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post
I don't do it that way anymore, but I use to click the mouse very loudly on the Pro Tools Mix window which was behind the edit window, and the mic would pick up the mouse click and I could sync to frame.

I have updated the links at the bottom of the post with more recent methods.

The way I do it today is either by using two interfaces or loopback.

Everything is recorded into OBS that way and ready to go.

I pop the video in to Pro Tools and extract the audio. Fix up the vocal track. Bounce it out. And edit it all together in DaVinci Resolve.

If you don't have loopback or another audio interface to use AND you are on Windows, I would probably suggest the Voicemeeter Potato method. Or the FL Studio Driver method IF you don't need to use inputs.

This is the latest video.

The ULTIMATE Guide To Screencast Your DAW - Voicemeeter Potato & OBS/Streamlabs
https://youtu.be/Dr9kF9yRQ74





Thanks again for the posts and the videos, both have been helpful.


May I ask what frame rate youre using in both PT and OBS?


I typically use 29.97drop, but noticed there is no drop frame option in OBS.


Ive had zero success importing the OBS videos back into PT.


thanks again for the pointers!
__________________
Best,
Sean

Sean McDonald
Red Medicine Recording LLC
Sofa King Music Services
http://www.seanmcdonald.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-08-2020, 10:10 AM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,877
Default Re: How to make Pro Tools tutorials for FREE - Record screen & ASIO audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy McDude View Post
Thanks again for the posts and the videos, both have been helpful.


May I ask what frame rate youre using in both PT and OBS?


I typically use 29.97drop, but noticed there is no drop frame option in OBS.


Ive had zero success importing the OBS videos back into PT.


thanks again for the pointers!
I use 60fps in OBS.

That's a bit overkill really, 30fps is enough for tutorials or livestream. But I like the motion 60fps gives me, even if no one else cares
__________________
Brian

Windows 11 Pro | macOS 12
Pro Tools 2021
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-12-2020, 06:19 PM
Guy McDude Guy McDude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: US
Posts: 302
Default Re: How to make Pro Tools tutorials for FREE - Record screen & ASIO audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post
I use 60fps in OBS.

That's a bit overkill really, 30fps is enough for tutorials or livestream. But I like the motion 60fps gives me, even if no one else cares

cool TY.
I will try again with that frame rate in both PT and OBS.
Perhaps that will eliminate the video errors in PT


thanks man
__________________
Best,
Sean

Sean McDonald
Red Medicine Recording LLC
Sofa King Music Services
http://www.seanmcdonald.com
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-28-2020, 06:19 PM
fasttraxx fasttraxx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 664
Default Re: How to make Pro Tools tutorials for FREE - Record screen & ASIO audio

what about mac? Any audio routing software for oBS and Pro Tools
__________________
Thanks and God Bless!
Y.B.I.C.
Bill
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-15-2022, 05:30 PM
groovebrother groovebrother is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: france
Posts: 468
Default Re: How to make Pro Tools tutorials for FREE - Record screen & ASIO audio

Hello,



pardon me but i still haven't found a way to make a video screen capture using pro tools ultimate + hdn (pci) using old 192 i/o


I was thinking of using ishowu instant for the screen capture because it shows all mouse + keys presses on screen
__________________
My soundcloud page
Mac Pro 2x 2.66GHz 6-Core / 80 Go Ram / PE6R4-i - HD Native - Tempo Sata Pro 6Gb - PTHD : 10 / 11 /12 / Ultimate - 192 i/o Digidesign - MTPAV - OSX : 10.4 / 10.5 / 10.6.8 / 10.8.5 / 10.9.5 / 10.11.6 / 10.13 - PowerMac G4 MDD / Pro Tools HD 5.3 / 6 / 7 / 8
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-16-2022, 10:58 AM
fasttraxx fasttraxx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 664
Default Re: How to make Pro Tools tutorials for FREE - Record screen & ASIO audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by groovebrother View Post
Hello,



pardon me but i still haven't found a way to make a video screen capture using pro tools ultimate + hdn (pci) using old 192 i/o


I was thinking of using ishowu instant for the screen capture because it shows all mouse + keys presses on screen
I use OBS for screen capture its a free software, but to route the audio from Pro Tools you need to use a third party software because of how Pro Tools doesn't like to play nice with everyone. I'm on a Mac computer and I use "blackhole" its a free routing/patching audio software that allows me to route audio to OBS from Pro Tools so I get sound and video.
__________________
Thanks and God Bless!
Y.B.I.C.
Bill
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-16-2022, 02:56 PM
groovebrother groovebrother is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: france
Posts: 468
Default Re: How to make Pro Tools tutorials for FREE - Record screen & ASIO audio

Hey


Thank you for the reply !

I might have found some solution with IshowU Instant : i can use two more audio outputs from the 192 i/o and they go in the mac input which is captured by IshowU.
Then i have my mic on some AUX track in pro tools which allows me to talk and hit play / stop whenever i want

I should try this in a few days as soon as i have free time
__________________
My soundcloud page
Mac Pro 2x 2.66GHz 6-Core / 80 Go Ram / PE6R4-i - HD Native - Tempo Sata Pro 6Gb - PTHD : 10 / 11 /12 / Ultimate - 192 i/o Digidesign - MTPAV - OSX : 10.4 / 10.5 / 10.6.8 / 10.8.5 / 10.9.5 / 10.11.6 / 10.13 - PowerMac G4 MDD / Pro Tools HD 5.3 / 6 / 7 / 8

Last edited by groovebrother; 01-16-2022 at 11:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-17-2022, 08:26 AM
fasttraxx fasttraxx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 664
Default Re: How to make Pro Tools tutorials for FREE - Record screen & ASIO audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by groovebrother View Post
Hey


Thank you for the reply !

I might have found some solution with IshowU Instant : i can use two more audio outputs from the 192 i/o and they go in the mac input which is captured by IshowU.
Then i have my mic on some AUX track in pro tools which allows me to talk and hit play / stop whenever i want

I should try this in a few days as soon as i have free time
Thanks for the update. Let us know how it works out.
__________________
Thanks and God Bless!
Y.B.I.C.
Bill
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free pro tools HD video tutorials: Side chaining and keyboard shortcuts chavernac 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-12-2011 01:47 AM
Who's using which screen/audio capture for recording tutorials and why DrFord Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 12-04-2010 08:33 AM
Pro Tools 7.4 Elastic audio tutorials...? Jaimo63 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-16-2008 11:22 AM
How to make ASIO default for Audio Playback toddamo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 12-22-2004 10:35 AM
Free Tutorials for Pro Tools LE? pborkstrom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 06-18-2003 07:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com